We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Joiners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife on a Saturday night. We were going to the Joiners (great live music venue) so the hotel was perfect as it was easy walking distance. The only drawback was the walk involved an underpass so we managed to get a lift back! The hotel is easy to get to but has limited parking which costs £4 for 24 hours. Check in was quick and simple and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were a little 'tired' in places but generally OK as well as clean and well presented. The rail lines run at the back of the hotel and the main road on two sides so it can be noisy. Not a problem if you have some earplugs! Didn't use the bar or restaurant so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

I choose this hotel for the price (not online price)and location. Ideal for the Red jet passenger ferry to IOW and 5min walk to town and 20min walk to train station. I found the rooms clean and staff helpful and friendly.The hotel is next to the railway line and I was on 5th floor and the noise from trains was not too noisy it didn't disturb my sleep.There is a park near the hotel aswell as you walk up to the town. I paid £161 for 3 nites which I booked day b4 by phone which was a lot better value than other hotels I looked at. I have stayed at lots of Premier inn and this was one of the cleaniest I have stayed in. Defo stay again. Top marks

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Would like to mention how helpful and professional one member of staff at the bar was yesterday, the young lady called Becca was extremely polite and helpful even in the face of what was basicly verbal abuse, and clearly without her behind the bar nothing would of been done as the other staff member I encountered was blatently clueless and unashamedky unhelpful towards customers and his fellow staff,his manner and informal speech further let him and his team down,but the lovely Becca managed to carry on despite his boistrous and disrespectful attitude towards her. If only the rest of the staff here could be on par with her performance I could of given a better rating as the rooms,acsesibilty and general experience where brilkiant, let down on by one member of staff who to be honest does not seem to care about his job

Room Tip: Heard other customers complain that roms closer to the train line behind the hotel gave a less satis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was at the bar tonight it was incredibly busy seemed like the entire city was hear and the bar maid Becca was rushed off her feet getting verbally abused by the customers. She handled it amazingly seemed like she was doing everyone's work for them she was for ever getting asked to do stuff but the other bar man who seemed to not know what he was doing. Just thought a hard working friendly member of the team should receive the recognition she deserves.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hapf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Does everything it says on the tin. Fast no-nonsense check in; good reliable food in pleasant restaurant. Nice room with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Slept really well, nice and quiet, comfy bed. Premier Inns seem to be building a reputation for good service at good prices. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swamp-pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was just an average overnight stay in this hotel by "Premier Inn standard". Perhaps it was due to us checking in late at 22.30 hrs, we did not find the interaction from the Receptionist particularly warm and welcoming. Although the overall standard of cleanliness and comfort in the bedroom and bathroom was as one would expect, it was a different matter outside. For example, it was rather intimidating to find smokers gathering in the entrance at that time of the night apparently drunk and making a lot of noises. The car park was full and in fact untidily overfilled, making manoeuvering and turning difficult. Litter was abound. We were redirected to a public car park nearby. It was free of charge until 08.00 hrs but involved walking back to the hotel via an underpass walkway or across a dual carriageway - car owners be warned! We did not stay for breakfast the next morning, opting for Toby instead.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guerndonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

cant believe how comfortable,friendly and easy to find just an amazing hotel that my family will always use from now on. i have told my mum about it and she has booked with the hotel for September to go to Ireland


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,016 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $60 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing