We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good value overnight with very helpful staff. Although I found the city
of Southampton rather untidy with much rubbish all around the streets
and Parks, there is a very good central shopping area. Did not have a
vehicle so cannot say about the car parking , it appeared to be quite
full all the time we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,222 - 1,228 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is situated within walking distance of the West Quay shopping mall the Train Station and the Cruise Terminals are only a 5 minute drive away. It was also nice to have the bar and restaurant within the hotel on the 5th floor and they will look after your bags once you have checked out if you are going on a cruise later in the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife & I booked a couple of nights at this hotel as was close to St.Mary's Football Stadium and near one of my relatives. Andy at reception when we checked in was most welcoming. Parking at this hotel is a nightmare! We were aware that parking places were limited but managed to get one when we arrived. We paid the hotel rate of £4.00 for 24 hours. We visited a relative for dinner and got back to the hotel later that evening to find that the car park was full and our place had been taken by another guest. The night porter gave us a piece of paper with a map with a couple of public car parks marked on on it and told us to park in one of them. After taking a few wrong turns and a mini tour of the City we found one of the car parks and had to pay another parking charge of £3.70 It was rather unnerving to find someone loitering in the car park and then having to walk back to the hotel via various subways late at night. The following day we did see that there was a nearer NCP car park very close to the hotel but this had not been marked on the map.The drinks machine on the 2nd day did not work(would not take my £1.40 for water) and when reporting this to Reception, the lady told me that the machine did not belong to the hotel but water was available in the Bar on the 5th floor. When I also asked if I could book lunch for 4 people I was informed that they did not do lunch on a Saturday. In the the bar I did manage to get a bottle of water but inflation crept in as I had to pay £1.75. Good news though I could eat in the bar but could not book a table! The main restaurant was in darkness and the bar became packed with people trying to find places to sit. I don't understand why they did not let guests use the tables in the restaurant which is adjacent to the bar.
We arrived early for lunch did manage to get drinks and eat in the bar area. The bar food & service by the bar & waiting staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the busy railway line at the back of the hotel. Last time I stayed here we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just had a great couple of nights staying here.Its a busy large hotel but we got two great nights sleep.
The staff were pleasent and it was great value.
The hotel is a premier inn so that is what you get --- our room was roomy with everything needed.
The bed was comfortable Do not expect great views out the windows but for a functional hotel and very good stay ask no more.
I would have done a 5 review except that there was a coffee and vending machine out of order in reception and it seemed no real effort to get them repaired for the guests conveience.

Room Tip: Pot luck with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very Friendly and helpful Hotel.
stayed 3 nights with no problems, very comfortable Bed and pillows
Will be staying here again.
There is no swimming pool or Fitness room either,
lovely restaurant upstairs, but didn't eat in there due to family commitments.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigeress1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is everything you'd expect from a Premier Inn - it is convenient, clean, good value and you know exactly what you are going to get.

I use this hotel regularly for visits either for shopping, or for watching Southampton football fixtures. The hotel is in a great location for games, and easy to stroll into town for days/nights out.

I have usually gone out for breakfast as there is plenty of choice nearby and the Premier Inn is a touch pricey. The same goes for dinner - if you look for them Southampton has plenty of good restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Good choice as a value for money base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danperrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel chain often gets bad reviews but my experience allows me to give a positive one. Booked in April for stay in December - credit card NOT debited until check in on reservation day. All requested preferances were met. Room comfortable and sufficiently equipped for overnight stay before holiday. Breakfast included and adequate choice for either buffet of full English.Offers evening meals at cost but centre of city a short walk if looking for alternatives. Short taxi ride from central railway station and cruise terminals.

Room Tip: High floor as lower floor rooms "may" be affected by road/rail traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esky60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,017 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing