We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had a very comfortable night at this Premier Inn. It is located about a mile away from Southampton Central station, and about a £5 cab ride.
As always with Premier Inn's, they could put a bit more thought in to the handicapped bathroom. Where we are expected to sit (on the back shelf of the bath) has no soap dispenser, but otherwise, there are plenty of grab bars.
The only negative with regards to this hotel is that there is a railway directly behind it. If you are used to city living, I guess it won't bother you - I wasn't woken through the night. The bed was very comfortable, so I had a good night's sleep.
The reception staff were very friendly both at check in and out, and all had a smile for me. That makes things so much better - such a small thing, but something that really makes a difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the building from the railway if you are sensitive to sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handicappedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    484
    150
    66
    43
See reviews for
387
430
86
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at this Premier Inn 10 years ago when it was new. My stay was every bit as good this time. Room was spotless, staff friendly and helpful and the food superb. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jowake71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here after our cruise. Short cab ride from the docks. The hotel held our luggage in a secure room for us until our our room was ready at 1:00 pm. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and very clean. The bed was comfortable. Quick 5 minute walk to town and the National Express coach station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Overnight stay when settling our daughter at University.
Very impressed, service, accomodation and facilities.
Would recommend highly for 'purpose'.
Look for deal for 3 course dinner and breakfast- basic dinner but OK- breakfast excellent value.
Cheaper to book on line- as ever- but massive difference from the figure quited on phone to that on line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPPYESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

have stayed in here for a couple of weeks, whilst working in southampton. had the steak most nights as it was well worth it. friday night didnt bother to book a table and guess what it was packed, but they found us a table. nothing was to much trouble.

Room Tip: train track one side road the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewmatt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Once again we have had a great break in a Premier Inn. This is the third stay with them in 5 months; the previous 2 being in London at Tower Bridge Road and County Hall.
It is clear that the company continue to mainatin their high standards while tweaking the recipe of their success.
The room was spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished, just as it was in the other hotels; the breakfast and evening meal (£22.00 meal deal) were of the usual high standard; the lobby was functional and efficiently appointed; the stay afforded great value for money; and above all the staff were pleasant, courteous and always helpful.
We have yet to meet a Premier Inn employee who has provided us with anything other than exceptional treatment. Whether it is because they have the greatest customer relations training ever, or they are just plain lucky in choosing their people, I don't know. But while convenient locations, extra pillows and gargantuan breakfasts may be the building blocks of their success, it is the staff that give it the lifeblood and soul that we love.
Here are a few pointers for anyone wishing to stay in this hotel. The hotel is situated between a busy road and a railway line but the rooms have virtually no noise issues; there is car parking at the hotel but it did seem to very full while we were there (midweek) so check if pre-booking is necessary; the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Southampton Central Station (and is uphill for most of the way if you are carrying bags); the taxi cost from the station varied between £3.50 and £4.50; the main shopping area is about 5-10 minute walk away; there are lots of open park areas closeby, as well as some good restaurants; if you want to eat in the hotel, the restaurant and bar are on the 5th floor with views over the city.
There is plenty to do in the city and we will be returning to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

i stayed here for one night after a long travel and needed a stop off.....the check in was smooth, the food was great and had a very relaxing stay....there was a staff member called Jack Callaway that was very helpful all though my time there that also stood out...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing