We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Comfortable and clean rooms and the hotel staff are helpful and friendly.

Parking a squeeze sometimes but the helpful chap in the car park will manage to shoe horn cars in wherever he finds a gap.

Food is OK but sometimes can be kept waiting by certain members of staff but on the whole quite good. Otherwise good location as restaurants in London Road and Above Bar Street not far away if you want to venture out.

If you are a light sleeper ask for a room on opposite side to the railway line and you will be sorted for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for room on opposite side to railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,352 - 1,358 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here recently with my girlfriend for just one night. We were in the area and decided it was easier to stay overnight before travelling back.

The hotel is your standard Premier Inn. Modern, basic, clean and comfortable. It has all the basics you'd need for a short stay. The room was a reasonable size, and very clean. I have no complaints.

We were shopping at West Quay which is about a five minute walk away. So the location was ideal. It's also only a 10-15 minute walk from Southampton Central train station, which was perfect.

We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. We had a three course meal from a selected menu and a buffet style, all you can eat cooked breakfast. This was part of a meal deal for £22 per person. Looking back, this was an absolute bargain. The food was of a good standard, but not spectacular. But the selected meal deal menu did offer a wide range of dishes.

The staff were very helpful and informative. We were seated at the restaurant by Edd on both visits. Although he is very happy and energetic, he is extremely friendly and helpful. He's just a bit much to take at 7am! He was fantastic at his job though, and should be praised for it. All of the other staff were very helpful and friendly too.

There is a railway line that runs parallel to the hotel. With the windows open, this causes quite a bit of noise. But there are noise blocking shutters in place. With these closed, you don't hear a thing. Even in May, the air conditioning unit was enough to cool the room with the windows closed.

Overall, a good stay. It was a cheap one night visit, and the hotel was perfect for our needs. If we plan a similar shopping trip to Southampton, I would hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid floors 4 & 5. The restaurant and bar is on floor 5, so this generates quite a lot of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee111989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My mum and I stayed for the weekend for a job interview. The staff were fantastic, the food was amazing and the room was clean and spacious. Stayed with PI before in different locations but this is the best so far.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room away from the railway line, not very nosy but in the summer could be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I'd really like to say nice things about this hotel - it's in a good location (although not quite as central as they'd like you to think, particularly in a torrential downpour), the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, the rooms are nicely designed and contain everything you could need for a night away, and the food, for breakfast and dinner, isn't at all bad in a chain-pub kind of way (the only exception being the breakfast coffee, which would be vastly improved if it actually tasted of coffee).

But - and sadly it's a big but - my room was one of the ones directly above the main railway line into Southampton Central station and, despite what they promise on the website, they're horrendously noisy even with double glazing. I also found the mattress to be so solid I would almost have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor, or on the sofa (a thought which unfortunately only occurred to me the next morning).

My money was refunded under the guarantee without me asking (as I said, the staff couldn't be more helpful), but I'd much rather have had a decent night's sleep. If you're the sort of person lucky enough to be able to sleep anywhere then you'll doubtless be fine staying here, but if, like me, you need it to be fairly quiet and comfortable before you can doze off, I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere - I certainly won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones at the back of the hotel - they're incredibly noisy thanks to the trains passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Many thanks for your review.

It is very important to us that our guest's enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We do hope that your refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay, please be assured that your comments will be passed onto the Management Team at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arrived after lunch for a pre-cruise overnight stay and were pleasantly surprised.

Parking was not an issue and we received a very friendly welcome on arrival at reception.
Decor is modern and well presented.

Our double room was clean, spacious, comfortable and surprisingly quiet despite looking over a railtrack. The bed gave us a good nights sleep.

Again, we were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast next morning. A good selection of food and drink with happy, friendly staff to help you.

For our one-night stay with breakfast we paid £69.98 for two people.
This may have been a little higher due to it being the Jubilee bank holiday weekend - not sure.

We would certainly stay at Premier Inn again if the standard is the same as Southampton City Centre.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuchtravelledEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Friendly helpful staff. Food was good at the restaurant. Liked 30mins free wi fi

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for 1 night.. and had a lovely nights sleep.

very clean, restaurant very nice, and not too expensive. all freshly cooked food, beer prices very reasonable.

breakfast was lovely, loads of it..

only problem was the car park for 50 cars, and it has 170 rooms... we made the mistake of checking in, paying for car park, and then goin out again, only to have problems getting a space. the car park guy eventually moved the barrier for the disabled space for us.. and he was literally parking the cars in any space he could.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,017 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing