We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in advance of an early flight. Hadn't stayed in a Premier Inn before and was concerned it would be like a Travelodge, which are now unbearably basic and unwelcoming. I needn't have worried; this Premier Inn was exceptional. Perfectly situated a 3-minute walk from the railway and a 5-minute walk from the airport terminal it was impressively quiet given the rail, road and air traffic on its doorstep.
The reception was welcoming, the receptionist extremely polite and helpful and my room was better than many 3 or 4 star hotels I've stayed in. It was clean, modern, comfortable with tea & coffee facilities, a modern TV that actually worked with plenty of Freeview channels, ample space, easy to operate air-conditioning/heating and a perfectly comfortable bed with more than adequate pillows, sheets and blankets. The bathroom was clean and modern and well equipped with toiletries. The bar and restaurant looked great, even though I didn't use them and check-out was quick and easy. There's an ample car-park and my only slight grumble is the £71 per night cost, but I did book late. Overall a great experience, wonderful stay and highly recommended. Puts Travelodge to shame

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    377
    129
    41
    24
See reviews for
320
370
102
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in February. It's a stones throw from Southamton Airport which made it very handy for us. Check in was slick and the reception staff were extremely helpful. We had breakfast and were not disappointed. Breakfast staff we very cheery and helpful too and the breakfast was good. It was quite busy which is usually a good sign. We thought it was very good value for £36 per night and have booked again for a future visit in April. We also used the 1/2 hour free wifi which was easy to get online with. Would not go past this hotel now if flying into Southamton Airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jangles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-West-France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A very pleasant welcome by the staff and a very comfortable bed in this hotel. And you can't get much closer to the departure hall! I would certainly recommend this hotel even if it doesn't look that good from the outside.
But just a few things should be mentionned.
Beware when taking a shower in the bath; it is rather slippery.
As far as meals are concerned, don't order extra toppings if you have pizza; mine had seven or eight paper-thin slices of mushroom which cost nearly a pound! Other than that, the pizza was quite good, and the wine, excellent.
It has free WIFI for only the first half hour, and you are charged more if you use it for longer. In a lot of hotels, it is totally free, so just be warned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loverfriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THOUARSAIS BOUILDROUX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had an enjoyable two nights here at a very good rate. We took advantage of a special deal which was exceptional value. Have to say that when we drove up and saw the dreadful colour of the joint we had our doubts. It looked like they'd used a job lot of dodgy lilac emulsion to paint the exterior rendering. Once inside all was well with nice, helpful, cheerful staff and the usual immaculate room with a smashing comfortable bed and a stonking bathroom.

On the downside was the fact that they charge 3 pounds per night for parking. This may be because the hotel is alongside Southampton Airport, but I wasn't happy. However, I was delighted when the receptionist told me the barriers were broken so parking was free - result! Got the distinct impression the receptionist was just as pleased as me. Maybe she gets fed up dealing with irate guests who object to paying for hotel parking.

Will certainly stay there again, providing the car park barriers are bust!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAZYDIAMOND85410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night here and payed £30. We arrived a long 5 hour drive and was welcomed by friendly staff. We were very happy to hear that the restaurant in the hotel was open and serving food till 10pm! The food was cheap, satirising and good quality. However, out steak like eating a piece of rubber. We wasn’t going to complain as we so tired and hungry we just wanted to eat, but our waitress specifically asked dhow our steak was so we explain, she offered to change it but we just decided to eat what we has as we was just wanted to eat and go to our room. Went I went to pay for the bill the waitress told me she had removed the steak from out bill! Excellent service! The whole meal cost £14. The bed was huge and very comfy – so sleep quality was great. The shower was nice and powerful as well. The room was also very clean. Again, you will not get better for the price really finding lately that Premier Inns have moved up in the world - a lot!

Room Tip: High floor away from any doors or lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Day48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I usually prefere Premier Inns, but this was the best so far. The room was quiet, spotless and very comfortable. The Reception staff were excellent. The dining room staff were extremely kind and efficient, and I thoroughly enjoyed the well cooked food. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was particularly impressed by my recent stay at this Premier Inn. The room was excellent value and the staff were efficient and friendly. I wanted to stay in the room after check out and was allowed, without any fuss or charge, to stay an extra hour and a half to fit in with my flight at the ajoining airport. Excellent breakfast and good value. I had the continental which had a good choice and my partner had the full english. Well cooked food. Highly recommend this Premier Inn.
Mags

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Address: Mitchell Way, Southampton SO18 2XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Business Hotel in Southampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're flying to Northern Europe, Southampton Airport is the easy way to go. And there's nowhere more convenient to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Southampton Airport. We're handy for all the local attractions too, from the delights of Southampton city centre through to the adventure playground that is the New Forest National Park. Fly off to Amsterdam, Geneva or countless other destinations across Europe. Or take off to explore some fascinating history at Southampton's SeaCity Museum or Tudor House and Garden. Or pay a flying visit to Paultons Family Theme Park and spend some time with Peppa Pig. Then come into land back at the hotel, with a meal at our restaurant and a flight to the land of nod in a comfy bed. Directions: Exit the M27(J5) taking the A335 towards Eastleigh. Turn right at the roundabout onto Wide Lane. Take 1st exit off the next roundabout onto Mitchell Way. Please note, parking charged at 3GBP for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing