We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
St. John, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Good Airport Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

ignore the strange purple exterior and inside this is a very friendly budget hotel with surprisingly agreeable rooms at a very sensible price. The restaurant & bar are also fine. and although the steak was a bit tough (but still well cooked & tasty), the staff were very apologetic & ready to change the order. There is a clear commitment to quality at affordable prices, and its only a short walk to the airport terminal. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterCreosote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    384
    130
    44
    24
See reviews for
323
376
105
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

we arrived at the hotel at 9.45pm, food was served until 10pm in the restaurant/bar but we did not require food or drink. Check in was pleasant and very effiicent, our room was on the ground floor near reception. The room was fresh and very clean, a large double bed, 2 chairs and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was very clean, the tiles over the bath were sparkling, the carpet was freshly vacuumed. We both slept well and were very happy with the room. Breakfast was very nice, buffet style and well cooked fresh food. The restaurant had plenty of staff available and it was very clean too. This is a modern hotel and one of the cleanest we have stayed inn, we would recommend premier Inn to anyone looking for a reasonably priced overnight stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business in July 2012. Having stayed in hotels nearby airports I thought there might be some issues with noise, this isn't the case. I was doing night shift working so slept during the day and wasn't woken once by traffic outside. The adjoining restaurant is typical premier inn however, the service here was a little slow and I did find myself having to go to find a waiter to settle my bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

If proximity to the airport is what you need, this hotel fits the bill very nicely - the only thing closer would be crashing on top of your bags in the terminal building. This also means that the charm-factor of the location (on a scale of 0-10) is about minus 5, but one expects that in an airport hotel. We stayed one weekend night and paid GBP 70.- for a double room without breakfast.

There's no arguing about taste, but the purple-ish colour scheme of the Premier Inn chain does make me want to. The exterior looks like a prison on the outskirts of Ulan Bator that's been converted to a girls school. Don't let this put you off - the actual guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and surprisingly stylish.

On arrival we found a suspicious looking stain on the (otherwise clean) sheet - how the housekeeper missed it is a mystery, but it was instantly changed to a spotless one on my request. Otherwise the standard of cleanliness was good.

There is a restaurant and a bar serving average pub food at reasonable prices. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The beds are large and very comfortable. Sound insulation is much better here than in many similar places, and even better than in some hotels charging twice as much. There were lorries noiselessly thundering past our bedroom window, like in a silent movie, and although some guests were inconsiderate enough to slam their doors, this was hardly audible.

I would stay here again if I have to stop in the area.

If all you need is a comfortable nights sleep at Southamptom airport, without unnessecary frills, this is a reliable option. And once inside, you don't have to look at the exterior.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrekkerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I arrived at about 9pm on a Sunday evening. The car park was overfull and I had to go inside and speak to the receptionist as there was no answer when pressing the button at the car park entrance. I was told to park in the 2nd car park.

The room was pleasant enough although very warm.

I wanted a meal but was told I would have to order and eat in the bar. The bar was very busy and after waiting for about 10 minutes and still being about 3 deep back from the bar I gave up. Luckily I had some cuppa soup and biscuits in my bag.

When back in my room I set the air-con to a lower temperature and the room did eventually cool down.

The staff I met were pleasant. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed comfy. These things I have come to expect from Premier Inn, even in their older sites.

However due to the problems I had with parking, room temperature and getting a meal mean I can't recommend this Premier Inn. At the end of a long day I want a stress free experience and I'm afraid to say that I was disappointed here. I generally can't fault Premier Inn and use them a lot but I will not be using this one again and wouldn't recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: Get a meal before you arrive. If you can't wait hours for your room to cool down before you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilley_Wearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this as an overnighter after Paulton park. We went for the £22 meal deal which was very good value for money. The food & service in the hotel restaurant was of a high standard. We would recommend this premier inn & we will definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here just 1 night whilst we were on our way to Bournemouth and found it to be be really very clean with excellent service and great food in the restaurant.
We have stayed in a number of Premier Inns in the last 2 years or so and whilst they have been all been good, this particular Inn was excellent. Just off the M27/M3 so easy access to Southampton, New Forest and Bournemouth areas.

Room Tip: Although it is near the ariport, with windows closed it is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Address: Mitchell Way, Southampton SO18 2XU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#2 Business Hotel in Southampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're flying to Northern Europe, Southampton Airport is the easy way to go. And there's nowhere more convenient to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Southampton Airport. We're handy for all the local attractions too, from the delights of Southampton city centre through to the adventure playground that is the New Forest National Park. Fly off to Amsterdam, Geneva or countless other destinations across Europe. Or take off to explore some fascinating history at Southampton's SeaCity Museum or Tudor House and Garden. Or pay a flying visit to Paultons Family Theme Park and spend some time with Peppa Pig. Then come into land back at the hotel, with a meal at our restaurant and a flight to the land of nod in a comfy bed. Directions: Exit the M27(J5) taking the A335 towards Eastleigh. Turn right at the roundabout onto Wide Lane. Take 1st exit off the next roundabout onto Mitchell Way. Please note, parking charged at 3GBP for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing