We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I always have low expectations when staying at UK motorway service station hotel/motels but this one turned out to be better than expected. The room, bathroom and bedding were very clean, the twin beds were reasonably comfortable and the bathrom had a bath and shower with piping hot water and good water pressure. At first sight the opportunities for getting something decent to eat at the service station (next door) looked a bit dismal, but in fact although choice was very limited the food itself was quite edible. There were only 3 choices - Costa Coffee, McDonalds and Road Chef. Costa is Costa, McDonalds is McDonalds and RoadChef offered a menu of 3 main meals: fish and chips, chicken and chips or hamburger and chips. Enough to make sure you don't starve before morning. As we only paid £29 for the room for the night (for 2 of us) (special offer) is was OK value for money. You can access the motel from either side of the motorway (Eastbound or Westbound) and you can park for free on either side if you give your car reg to reception.

Room Tip: All rooms were a bit noisy because of proximity to motorway but the motel is just far away for it no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth-Taunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika3127, Manager at Days Inn Southampton Rownhams, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. If you book again, please do contact the hotel directly so we can allocate you a room on the back hotel.
I hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Southampton in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    102
    51
    27
    20
See reviews for
110
80
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I chose this hotel for its good location on the M 27 between Bournemouth and Portsmouth. A former Premier Inn with 39 rooms. The room cost £150 for 3 nights. It had a 9’ worktop with luggage shelf, and a 4’6” double bed, but the duvet was a bit lightweight. The security spyhole in the door was broken.
The staff were unhelpful. I wished to extend my stay for a further night because snow was forecast on my route home. This created consternation among the three members of staff sitting in Reception, and there were murmurings of problems with their internet bookings on the Days Inn computer system. I was told they would come back to me, but I heard nothing more. I tried to contact Days Inn head office by phone, but could not get a reply.
After my visit I was contacted by email and invited to complete an online survey, in which I gave a factual report. Monika Litwin, Unit Manager, sent me an email apology, and offered an immediate refund of £75. This was greatly appreciated, and in view of this kindness I intend to visit the hotel again when I am in that area.
Expensive food is provided on site by Roadchef. A daily £10 food voucher at the hotel cost £7.50, which was good, but a very basic breakfast was priced at £6.49, and better breakfasts were more expensive. To this could be added a mug of coffee £2.70, 2 pieces of Weetabix £2.20, and 2 slices of toast £1, which are definitely not good value.
I transferred to a luxury Premier Inn at Poole for my additional night. Obviously a higher basic cost, but their excellent all-you-can eat and wide variety breakfast was priced at only £8.25.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radartrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonikaLitwin, General Manager at Days Inn Southampton Rownhams, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review on your stay here at Days Inn Southampton. I'm glad you had a comfortable night sleep and your room was to standard and clean. Please let us know next time thinking of staying and we will be happy to look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

As a family of four all we really needed was four comfortable beds in a clean, quiet room. The room was clean and looked over the forested area to the rear of the hotel - bit worried as it was the night of the "storm" but all trees were still standing the following morning! Plenty of hot water, towels and a bargain as we paid less than £40 for the night. Also had a terrific day at Beaulieu Motor Museum which is only 25 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beautiful forested area to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my wife whilst we were fishing nearby. It was convenient and comfortable, with plenty parking and friendly staff. Having the 24hr facilities of a motorway service available was nice, though access is a bit awkward as one of the junctions used for access is a few miles away. The rooms are modern, tidy and spacious; with free wifi. It was useful to have an electric heater in the room so we could control the temperature. However, the wifi was intermittent and weak, even though we were adjacent to the reception area, which was frustrating. Also the towel rail didn't work. The shower was hot enough but didn't have any pressure and had no spray as a result. Overall it was comfortable, with no serious problems. It's a pity they don't pay more attention to the details as it could be a really nice hotel with a bit more effort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here as a family of three in September 2013. The quality and size of the room is exactly the same as that of a Travelodge i.e. barely adequate. The advantage of this hotel is that you get free wireless internet access and we found the speed to be very good (fast enough to stream SD video). If you register for the hotel's reward scheme, you also get a free bottle of water and a chocolate bar (once per stay and for the lead guest only). We paid £30 per room per night (week day nights) and I don't feel that it was worth any more than that.
Advantages: convenient for motorway and fast free wireless
Disadvantages: Moderate/strong smell of damp in the room (which somebody had attempted to mask with an extra strong and thoroughly unpleasant smelling 1970s style air freshener), some traces of mould in the bathroom and a thick layer of dust/hair/not sure what but it wasn't nice beneath the desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Only there for one night, only cost £45 for a family room so to be honest wasn't expecting much at all, staff were very helpful when we arrived, room was clean and a good size for us all, bathroom also very clean. We all had a great nights sleep before going to Peppa Pig World which was very near to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

OK but had to change my booking a few days before travelling and the website was not set up to accept a change of one night. I had to cancel all 3 nights then rebook This meant I have paid twice ie for 5 nights but only stayed for 2 and am awaiting a refund.
During the Friday night of my stay there were people walking around in the corridors at 4.30 am and again just after 5 am; they were also knocking on doors, presumably to gain access to rooms. and calling through the door to waken the person inside. I would prefer not to stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
3.7 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
4.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Property: Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing