We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you would need for a night's stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Beckenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All you would need for a night's stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

As a family of four all we really needed was four comfortable beds in a clean, quiet room. The room was clean and looked over the forested area to the rear of the hotel - bit worried as it was the night of the "storm" but all trees were still standing the following morning! Plenty of hot water, towels and a bargain as we paid less than £40 for the night. Also had a terrific day at Beaulieu Motor Museum which is only 25 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beautiful forested area to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    103
    52
    27
    20
See reviews for
112
80
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my wife whilst we were fishing nearby. It was convenient and comfortable, with plenty parking and friendly staff. Having the 24hr facilities of a motorway service available was nice, though access is a bit awkward as one of the junctions used for access is a few miles away. The rooms are modern, tidy and spacious; with free wifi. It was useful to have an electric heater in the room so we could control the temperature. However, the wifi was intermittent and weak, even though we were adjacent to the reception area, which was frustrating. Also the towel rail didn't work. The shower was hot enough but didn't have any pressure and had no spray as a result. Overall it was comfortable, with no serious problems. It's a pity they don't pay more attention to the details as it could be a really nice hotel with a bit more effort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here as a family of three in September 2013. The quality and size of the room is exactly the same as that of a Travelodge i.e. barely adequate. The advantage of this hotel is that you get free wireless internet access and we found the speed to be very good (fast enough to stream SD video). If you register for the hotel's reward scheme, you also get a free bottle of water and a chocolate bar (once per stay and for the lead guest only). We paid £30 per room per night (week day nights) and I don't feel that it was worth any more than that.
Advantages: convenient for motorway and fast free wireless
Disadvantages: Moderate/strong smell of damp in the room (which somebody had attempted to mask with an extra strong and thoroughly unpleasant smelling 1970s style air freshener), some traces of mould in the bathroom and a thick layer of dust/hair/not sure what but it wasn't nice beneath the desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Only there for one night, only cost £45 for a family room so to be honest wasn't expecting much at all, staff were very helpful when we arrived, room was clean and a good size for us all, bathroom also very clean. We all had a great nights sleep before going to Peppa Pig World which was very near to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

OK but had to change my booking a few days before travelling and the website was not set up to accept a change of one night. I had to cancel all 3 nights then rebook This meant I have paid twice ie for 5 nights but only stayed for 2 and am awaiting a refund.
During the Friday night of my stay there were people walking around in the corridors at 4.30 am and again just after 5 am; they were also knocking on doors, presumably to gain access to rooms. and calling through the door to waken the person inside. I would prefer not to stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked two rooms at £50 per night per room, we booked in advance over the phone, when we checked in we was informed that the price was NOW £100 per night per room which we explained we had been quoted £50 not £100 they replied with due to a local sailing exhibition we have put the prices up and because we hadn't cancelled before 16:00 we have taken £200 from your account ***THIS IS ROBBERY PLEASE DONT USE THIS HOTEL ITS A RIP OFF***

Room Tip: LOOK ELSEWHERE unless you have money to throw away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed here for one night, room was clean and tidy, would definitely stay again. when checking in i left my tickets for poulton park on the reception desk, the lady on duty posted them underneath the door for us, very kind and honest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
4.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,649 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
3.7 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Property: Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing