We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not a good night's sleep”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Got to be one of the worse beds. The bed was so soft that we woke each other up with every movement and rolled into the middle. I inadvertently booked a twin room which the receptionist kindly changed to a double for us, wish I hadn't bothered. The staff are friendly and helpful. The free wifi is great. The shower was more like standing under a hose than a shower head. We stayed for convenience and payed full price, I expected it to be better than a Travelodge but it wasn't. Will find elsewhere another time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan-Ducis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    110
    58
    27
    20
See reviews for
120
85
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Situated on the M27 services just north of Southampton this was a good, clean and convenient stopover at Christmas.

Rooms, clean and tidy and reasonably sized. Usual options available at services just a short walk away. Good for us as they take dogs but do charge and provide no services.

Have free wifi, but it was very weak.

We were completely on our own on our stay, though reception is manned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was a pleasure staying after the room we had the nite before in converty the staff where very friendly even at haf 12 in the morning. Have told a lot of my freinds who travel to use you will be using u again. I was so happy with the room I left a little thank you note for.the cleaner. Thanks again for a good nite sleep

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

After spending are first nite in a very dirty room in Coventry I can say it was a breath of fresh air when we arrived at the daysinn room was. Amazing and staff were brilliant. And even the.nite staff still had a smile when we walked in at half midnight. Will stay again :+)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jowillis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I've only recently started using Day inns....and I have to say I'm never disappointed.

Great size rooms,comfy beds and always clean.

The downside of stopping at a services is that you are pretty much limited on your food to the normal burger chains.

The room was spot on...even though I has in a single bed...the bed was single 1.5 size so no issues.

Super friendly receptionist and free parking too

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Perfectly acceptable hotel. Arrived very late for check-in but lady on reception very helpful. Staff next day equally friendly. Location excellent(if you need to visit New Forest, Bournemouth or Southampton/Portsmouth). Room ok and what you would expect- motorway facing room but noise was not excessive-m27 busy early on in the day but bearable if you are out early&back late.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WeHatePoorService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We left the M27 at Rownhams and due to the coaches parked in the hotel car park drove straight past the entry to the hotel parking. This left us in the middle of the general car park and meant we had to drive the wrong way down the entry road to reach the car park! The signage for the hotel was not good, and you should be careful you dont end up doing the same thing! The room we had was on the ground floor, and was really an 'accessible' room with a disabled bathroom and twin beds. The room was clean and tidy with coffee and tea making facilities and a TV. The beds were not anchored to the floor so when you sat up and leant against the wall the bed flew across the room! We were woken at 5.30am by cleaners coming in to clean the room - they appeared unaware that the room was occupied! Reception offered free breakfast vouchers as an apology. As an overnight stop this hotel is OK but I would not want to stay any longer. Also take note the room rate is quite high if you book direct so look for another source to purchase.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
881 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
4.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Property: Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing