We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but not 4* Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We visited our daughter who is attending Uni in Southampton. We booked two rooms for two nights, one for us and one for the girls. I called the hotel before our 3 hour journey to ensure the booking was ok but they had only booked us in for one night only although we had a confirmation for two nights. The reception amended their record but it was not a good start. Our room was ok but theirs was dark and small - more like a single room. The wardrobe was tiny and so was the bathroom. Although there was a bath, the bath taps were not useable - only the shower. If they wanted a bath they had to fill up by turning the shower on. The corriders were painted a very dull matt grey which wasn't attractive and everywhere smelled fusty (old building). The breakfast was ok, although upon entering the restaurant the staff indicated that we could help ourselves to the buffet but did not mention that we could also order from the breakfast menu, e.g. poached eggs, eggs benedict etc. Car park was behind the hotel but not easy to find and the price was reasonable. I would say that the only difference between this hotel and a 3* is the fact that they provide biscuits with T&CMF and complimentary shampoo, soap and shower gel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I was sorry to read there were elements of your stay that were not up to our usual high standards, I would like to assure you these will be addressed with the relevant members of my team.
I hope you will choose to return to the Mercure Southampton Centre Hotel on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards
Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,444 - 1,450 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

stayed with wife for our 30th anniversay and the room was 2 star and small / cramped and needed painting, also it was cold with the heating only coming on early morning and only in the evening for about an hour. breakfast buffet was very good, staff were polite and helpful, bar was small. we had a big problem with trying to get into the hotel at 11.10pm because they have big barn type doors for entry from the road and they lock these at 11pm and after that you have to ring a bell which we did and we rang and rang for 15mins in the rain and this wasn't as you can appreciate a nice end to our wedding anniversay evening.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Home-Telecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Hotel.
I was sorry to read there were some disapointing elements of your stay which I will address with the team.
I was confused with your comments about the heating, the system is always on and is controlled in each indivdual room. I will certainly investiagte if there is an issue with the room you stayed in but can confirm this is not a 'hotel wide issue'.
My apologies again and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Kind Regards
Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertcH3714PY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed one night on business. Small room,bathroom smelt as shower curtain was moldy. Paint failing off the wall in the bathroom making the whole room feel unkept.
Dave from the bar was wonderful really polite and a credit to the hotel. He was aware i had to catch an early flight and would be leaving before breakfast was being served- room service arrived the following morning before i left,fantastic customer care

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntRachUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I was delighted to read of the great service given by David I will ensure this is passed onto him.
My apologies for the problems with the room, I will of course address this.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Hotel soon.
Kind regards
Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Nice looking character hotel with excellent friendly service. Rooms were a little sparsly decorated but bed was very comfortable and furniture good quality. Lack of air conditioning could be a problem in summer, but not a for this stay. Plenty of car parking to the rear for a reasonable charge. Breakfast was expensive so went to the Wetherspoons pub next door.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwanseaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Southampton.
kind regards
Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

friday 21st january 2011

we held our wedding reception here and my husband is disabled and i have a milk allergy ,they catered for our every need .there was a lift to take us up to reception room which was beautifully laid out .we had a three course wedding dinner which was all to our satisfaction .the staff that all assisted us were very helpful indeed .we stayed in a room in hotel overnight which we both felt was to a high standard .we would recommend this hotel to anyone for their wedding .thankyou to all the dolphin hotel staff for helping make our wedding a memorable one

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your review and choosing the Dolphin as the venue for your special day.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your day with us and will of course ensure your comments are passed onto the team.
Kind regards
Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We arrived on Friday evening for an overnight stay with friends.
I have never been to Southampton before so I wasnt sure what to extpect, but what a lovely surprise The Dolphin Was!
It is in a fantastic location near harbour front, shops, and historical places to visit. The room was upto date, warm and spotless. The staff friendly and efficient. We were well looked after.
We ate in the Signature Restaurant that evening and the food was 5 Star!
I will definately return as a couple or with family and friends again.
Well Done!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will ensure your comments are communicated to the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Southampton.

kind regards
Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 25 in Southampton
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $66 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing