We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,805)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveler rating
373
570
453
245
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
570
453
245
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room high street city centre the hotel car park pre cruise stayed for one night comfy bed full english cruise terminal dolphins wetherspoons port annex docks ship
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017

We have stayed here many times. The good points are a laptop sized room safe (but it is on the floor (so that is a negative point!) ), an iron, ironing board, hairdryer, fan, kettle with tea and coffee and an elevator, comfy bed with 2 pillows.
Bad points are poor wifi, small bathroom, mixer tap for shower over bath, sockets by table and kettle area only, an annoying high pitched sound outside (especially in the night) I think for ventilation or heating, old floor boards that squeak up the corridor and you can hear everyone who arrives late at night too!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank traveller-pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercuredolphin, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear traveller-pg,

Firstly thank you for returning to the Mercure Dolphin Hotel again and I pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel.

I had noted your constructive comments and I have forwarded them onto our maintenance department for review.

I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to demonstrate that we our responding to our guest’s feedback

Kind Regards
Stephanie
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The rooms are small but charming. A walk in the corridors is like a walk in a maze. We had to connect to the wi-fi several times. There were lot of great places to eat and drink near the hotel. Overall an average stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank obla1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercuredolphin, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear obla1004,

We very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit to Southampton. I’m so pleased that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at the Mercure Dolphin Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon

Kind Regards
Stephanie
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

This hotel has a long history and is very charming. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were able to get into our rooms early. Take advantage of the offer of help with your luggage. Due to the unique nature and design of this hotel there are some up/down staircases and small corridors. The location was wonderful. Close to shops, pubs, restaurants. We had a room on the front with a view. The size of the room was great. However this hotel is a bit tired in areas. They are trying to keep up. One must remember this hotel is in a sea side city and some areas needing to be refurbished are due the sea salt in the air. They provide ear plugs in the front rooms over the street but even as a light sleeper, I did not need them.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dexie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercuredolphin, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear Dexie2015,

Thank you for your positive review of the Mercure Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the history and heritage of our grade two listed property.

We also recognise that some areas of the hotel are in need of modernisation and improvement and we are making the necessary improvements through our on-going renovations project.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to demonstrate the progress that we have made since your last visit

Kind Regards
Stephanie
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the hotel for one night, we had a privilege room which was away from the high street in a house which had 2 rooms, it was nice to have a more private room rather than being surrounded by rooms in the main hotel. The room was comfortable, we slept well. There was some noise and shouting but with the hotel being by the High Street this was to be expected. The room had complementary drinks in the mini fridge, and all the usuals like shower gel, shampoo etc and even had a mini toothbrush and toothpaste, as well as iron and ironing board and hairdryer which was handy.
The bathroom was big, however the bath was fairly small. Shower was powerful though. Parking was £5 per night in the hotels car park.
We were offered breakfast, dinner etc and staff were polite and helpful. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank emily0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercuredolphin, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear emily0901,

We very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit to Southampton. I’m so pleased that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at the Mercure Dolphin Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Stephanie
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017

Sorry to say not good. First room 214 was poor. Carpet in need of a good clean, mould in bathroom on joint between ceiling and wall, bath handle very loose - holding on that while getting out it would probable come off ! Looking out of the window - a wall a few feet away covered in ivy with a very small view of the sky. On opening the old sash window it rattled with the wind. The noise of the extractor fan in the bathroom could be heard down the corridor. We asked to be moved.
Very polite Manager apologised and said we could move to a Privilege room. This much better with four post bed and a coffee machine. The large bow window gave a good view of the High Street. Had to call maintenance man as the extractor fan in bathroom did not work. Settled in for a good night sleep after doing lots of shopping - NO . Across the road was a pub that had drinkers till 3am all out in the road. Also a bus stop just below the single glass old bow window - one of the largest in the country. The noise was BAD. In the morning we noticed a sign offering ear plugs if we did not like the noise of the city !!!!!! Tried to have a shower, impossible as it just dribbled so had a bath which took up more wasted time.
There is a lift but difficult to get to room after getting out of it so had to use the stairs, 52 steps. Bar and breakfast OK. All looks very "tired", needs a good paint.
Sorry for the poor review but would not stay there again. On speaking to two other guests they also had to move rooms and shook their heads in disbelief after reading how good the hotel had been portrayed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank disatisfied2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews