We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed December 7, 2013

As we stayed here this time last year and didn't have to bad a time we decided to stay again this year. Unfortunately what a difference a year can make. Don't get me wrong, the location is great, there is parking and all but the head of breakfast, who didn't even speak to us, the staff are very helpful and friendly. We did stay in the basic room. However, all that said it did not warrant its price tag, you get better value at a Premium Inn. The room was very old and tatty although clean. I did have to request my bed spread be changed as it was dirty and there was a loose tile on the bathroom floor that needed to be re grouted. Both things done whilst I was out, good customer service there. Other issues that can to light where the toilet seat would not stay up for gentleman users and the main entry door lock kept sticking on. The bed was comfortable and we did sleep ok. On arriving for breakfast there was no one to greet us and nothing to say please wait to be seated, so we sat down. Whilst getting something to eat the head of breakfast did stare at us but said nothing. There was a nice variety of choices for breakfast and it was very nice.

On checking out I was asked if we had enjoyed our stay. I advised of the issues we had and gave our opinion on the state of the room. The trainee staff member apologized however the staff member who took the payment just thanked me for letting them know.

I would have thought with all the issues we had had there might have been a small gesture of goodwill, ie remove car parking fee, nope nothing.

Would we recommend or stay again at this hotel, sadly not.

Room Tip: I'm not sure I can advise of a good room as I was advised our room was very good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Firstly I would like to apologise that you experienced some issues that were not up to our high standards.I was pleased to read that things were quickly addressed when you brought them to our attention. As with all customer feedback your comments will be addressed with the relevant members of your time to help us constantly evaluate the service and product we offer our guests.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

943 - 949 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I write this whilst having breakfast, as I'm so disappointed with this faded and withering hotel.
Probably a great place during the Victorian era, it very badly needs updating (i.e.. total refurbishment) if it has any pretence of keeping up with the Malmaisons or Hotel du Vins. It's 4 star rating is ludicrous.
The chipped interior, woefully small lift and ancient revolving door have all been covered before and remind you to having stepped back in time 15 years. The bed was good though once I had switched the heating on in the room (small by modern standards) which was off (umm...it's December!) I was comfortable enough.
The 2 real annoyances though were the mice scratching around loudly in the cavity wall/ceiling that almost had me phoning reception for a room change at 11 o'clock, and then the noisy pigeons outside my window that woke me early (never heard of the anti-pigeon spikes?).
Everything else, including the breakfast I'm now eating, is OK but average.
Bluntly, whilst it's not a train wreck, I would never choose to stay here again. I stay a lot in hotels, and for the money, you couldn't do worse elsewhere. Sorry, the truth hurts.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Clearly I am very disapointed you did not enjoy your stay with us, for which I sincerely apologise.

I do feel that the content of your review is unfair in parts and left me wondering if you had the right hotel. The truth is the hotel is one of the oldest buidings in the city and has listed status and we are proud to operate it. When we redeveloped the hotel we ensured we kept the orginal features in the building, for example the rotating doors and the pianted ceilings that have been in place for hundreds of years and give the hotel characer as well as preserving part of history.

Thank you again for your feedback.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Advertised as a four star with recent extensive renovations but don't be fooled…this hotel does NOT deserve its elevated status.
Private car parking is a definite positive costing £4 for 24 hours but there is a complex one way system round the back of the hotel to negotiate first.
Initial impressions were positive and the check in was friendly and efficient and we were issued with our free Wi-Fi codes, one code for each device and make sure you keep it handy,we were logged off on several occasions.
A very shaky lift carried us to the third floor followed by a small flight of stairs to the 4th where our room was at the end of a corridor located at the front of the hotel.
A very good sized room but it certainly wasn't 4* standard and was exceptionally basic, I dont think the refurbishments included the standard rooms.There was no fridge but there was a safe and ironing facilities and hairdryer which was worse than the one I use at home! As for the tea making facilities well,what can I say?? All they offer is a few teabags,sachets of coffee and vile milk sachets that would be more at home in a roadside tea bar,there wasn't even any hot chocolate but upgrade to the premier room and they PROUDLY boast that you get your own n'espresso machine. Obviously the standard customers don't matter as much!!
The bathroom on first glance looked promising but then we noticed the radiator hanging off the wall, and the shower head either needs a really good clean or replacing. The room itself needed some TLC including the paintwork and the pelmet over the window was visibly thick with dust! The bed although large was far too soft and would benefit from a new mattress, not good for someone with a back problem.What really frustrated us which we mentioned on checkout (with no response) was that we were not told about the very noisy bar opposite the hotel alongside a "gentleman's club". The noise kept us awake until well into the early hours although the second night was slightly better.
Breakfast was a very positive experience even though they couldn't cater for a gluten intolerant customer and made no effort to accommodate this, a good selection of hot and cold food served buffet style.
On a plus point the hotel is superbly situated for shopping and sight seeing,with just a short 10 minuted stroll into the central shopping area with an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Its also worth a visit to the dock area and follow the "walls walk" for some very interesting history.
This hotel let's itself down by advertising as something it's definitely not!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front if you require undisturbed sleep
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Disapointed to read there were some negative aspects to your stay for which I apologise and would like to assure you these points will be investigated.

I was however pleased to read there were also positive aspects as well.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paz2108
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Bedroom and bathroom were in a terrible state!! Needed updating, chipped walls, dirty bathroom and overall appearance of the bedroom was not up to to the standard that you expect for a 4* hotel. Having decided to venture out for dinner in the evening, I was shocked and suprised to find myself locked out of the hotel with both front of the hotel and back entrance to the car park both locked up before midnight!! Yes I understand that the security of your guests Is paramount but please inform guests of the protocol at check in of accessing the hotel outside of working hours. Having frozen to death and trying many a times to call reception to open the front gate after 20mins I finally got hold of someone! Not acceptable!! Was very disappointed!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RM0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

I am sorry to read there were elements of your stay that were not us to our high standards for which I sincerely apologise.

In regards to the security of the building whilst I am sorry you had to wait, there is signage displayed explaining our procedures and a door bell and mobile number to call if the gates are locked.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a short visit for a graduation.
The hotel is within reasonable walking distance of the coach and train stations (a taxi would cost only about £5), and very close to the main shopping centre. Our room was clean and comfortable with a huge bed and large bathroom. The room was well appointed with coffee/tea, kettle, iron and a small safe etc. We asked for more milk and were offered fresh instead of uht cartons which was a nice touch.
We had dinner in the restaurant; we enjoyed our meals and found the staff, both at reception and in the restaurant, friendly and helpful. We asked for a later checkout which was agreed without any problem.
If we find ourselves back in Southampton we'd have no hesitation returning to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank amh2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and meal in the restaurant and will ensure your kind words shared with the team.

Really pleased to read you would not hesiate in returning so we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I don't know how you consider this to be a 4* hotel and if so, which organisation gave the hotel a 4* rating?. The rooms were really tatty, old fashioned and cramped - the bathroom was like going back to the dark ages, stains around the bath handles, rust I assume? The corridors to the rooms were like a prison enviroment, all grey walls, doors and skirting boards!

I guess your customers that write positive reviews are not regular users of decent hotels? Even all the dishes in the breakfast buffet were virtually cold - this was at 8,30 am???

The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is that the staff were polite and friendly but a 4* rating is an absolute joke!!!

I think the hotel should be subject to the trade descriptions act?

Appalling!

Room Tip: Book another hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

I am in receipt of your review, which I have to say is very out of line with the rating from previous postings. As you can see from our previous reviews we are proud of the high levels of positive feedback we get making the content of your review even more of a suprise!

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we do have a duty manager available twenty four hours a day who could have made your stay more comfortable if you had made us aware of your concerns.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $82 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing