We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel for a pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for a pre-cruise stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here twice in the last 2 weeks prior to a cruise.
The staff are lovely, room 214 a good choice, it was very quiet.
Breakfast was lovely, with a good selection of hot and cold food.
We chose to eat at the Coriander Lounge just across the road - fantastic curry. 2 weeks ago we went to the Isle of Wight on the ferry and ate at the Coast - excellent meal too!
Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a large, quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escapingfromwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your two recent stays with us.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed you stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel and hope to be welcoming you back for a third time very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    475
    365
    196
    120
See reviews for
228
620
102
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at the Dolphin last weekend and have to say we were disappointed. It's only plus is that it is well located near the shopping area and the docks.
Finding the car park was a bit difficult and to find that there was a charge was a bit galling. The car park is very small so be wary as you may not get a space.
The reception desk is way too small for the number of guests arriving early afternoon. The front desk staff were very stressed..
We were allocated room 211 on the second floor but the lift only goes to the first floor, you have to walk up the next flight.
The room was small but adequate and quite comfortable for a night or two. Wi fi is free.
But BEWARE, rooms on the front of this hotel are very noisy with traffic noise and on weekends from the night club across the road. Also our room was directly above the function room with a heavy beat going on until after 1am.. They specialise in weddings to what I suspect is to the detriment of staying guests. You need ear plugs. They don't give you any prior warning about the function room directly below.
Breakfast is way overpriced at £13.95, you can get a similar breakfast in an excellent café a matter of 50 metres away for £5.95.
Would I book again? no way.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the street side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceclowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay with us.

I was sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel for which I sincerely apologise.

The points we can address will be taken on board however I am confused with your comments about the car park being small - we have 80 spaces!

Thanks again for your feedback

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Dolphin prior to a cruise holiday. Only a short taxci ride form the train station and then likewise to the port. The reception staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly - a 5 star rating for them. Had a room on the first floor and despite there being a lift to the floor we still had to negotiate stairs to get to our hidden away room - we managed however. The room was small but functional. Not a problem for an overnight stay. Liked the style of the hotel but it is in need of some loving care here and there - paint flaking off and the toilet unstable - not secured properly to the floor. Had to keep the curtains closed as we had no blinds or nets and therefore the room lacked a degree of privacy when dressing in the morning.
The hotel had a small bar but was fine for us. Didn't eat at the hotel but would suggest going to Wetherspoons Pub just along the road - breakfasts there is excellent quality and value for money - £6 for a full English and freshly cooked. This provided a brillainat start to the day.

Room Tip: If you have any needs or difficulty then let the staff know in advance so that they can give the the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Mercure Centre Dolphin Hotel for your pre cruise stay.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a good, basic hotel, very reasonably priced when compared to others and very conveniently located for the shopping centre. Desk staff were very polite, even when dealing with rude and difficult guests. All of the staff in this hotel speak to the guests in passing and are friendly and charming. The room was clean and functional, with the usual desk and chair, small wardrobe, ironing board and iron. Beds were a little too soft for me, but that is a matter of personal taste. The bathroom needed updating, the shower kept changing from hot to cold and the shower head could have done with a de-scale. Very soft, luxurious and generously-sized towels, which I loved. Toiletries supplied, but not of particularly good quality. Three tissues were supplied in the room, together with one disposal bag in the bathroom - for two nights - which did not impress. I can understand that some guests might take them unnecessarily but, even so, a reasonable number should be supplied for guests' use. There was a notepad with two sheets of paper and a pen that didn't work. Breakfast was plentiful, buffet-style, with a choice of full English breakfast, various breads and pastries, cereals, fresh fruit and fruit salad, dried fruits, yogurts and probiotics, with a menu for additional dishes, so something there for everyone. Parking is £4 for 24 hours, which I thought was very reasonable, as many hotels in Southampton do not have parking. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I would recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side and back of hotel are considerably quieter. Convenient parking behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardenlover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us which is valuable to us.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here one Sunday night prior to a cruise.Staff very helpful gave us a ground floor room as we had heavy luggage. This was in an annex opposite main reception.Had a good nights sleep in spite of being facing Main Street.The room was a large twin, very clean, modern and comfortable.We didn't,t eat in hotel, instead opted for Wetherspoons,turn right out of entrance and it is a few doors down. Good reasonable priced food, family friendly.

Room Tip: This room suited us, but may be noisy on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dks29nl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for your pre cruise stay.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, the room comfortable and found the staff friendly and helpful.

It is a shame you did not get chance to eat with us hopefully you will be able to dine in our award winning Signature Restaurant on your next stay?

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Dolphin Hotel is 600 years old & has many challenges for management. Our original room was deemed too close to a wedding function which was to take place on our 2nd night. They went to enormous lengths to relocate us with the minimum inconvenience to ourselves. Very professional and the high level of concern for our comfort was much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and will of course share your kinds words with my team.

You are quite right, the Dolphin is a lovely building with lots of history and I am very proud to have the opporunity to manage this fine hotel however it certainly does have its challenges!

We hope to see you again soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were staying here on the 26th for one night.
I will give you one piece of advice; check online the direction to the car park as we were caught out by the fact that we had to go down a few back roads to get to it.
We were greeted by staff who were very friendly and efficient, especially as they were hosting a wedding there that very afternoon.
The room was a fair size, slightly cramped but I have stayed in smaller rooms. The room and WC was spotlessly cleaned which was a relief.
The double bed we had was so unbelievably comfortable it felt as if we were sleeping on a cloud.
The location has its ups and downs. A good point is that the hotel is only a couple minutes walk from the city's shopping district. However, staying on a Saturday night had it's drawbacks as we were staying in a room facing a very busy nightclub. I don't think we properly got to sleep until at least 3AM. This wasn't helped by the fact that the windows were not very soundproof.
Our room price was £89 and had to pay £4/day for parking. We didn't opt for breakfast as they wanted an extra 13.95 pounds per person extra.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us.

This information is very useful to us, in allowing us to continually focus on areas we can imporve and make our guests experience at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel even better

We hope to welcome you back in the future

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing