We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town historical links”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely comfy hotel close to shops and to port of Southampton. The breakfasts are expensive but there is a weather spoon hotel a few doors down which is great value. Taxi to port was about £5. Good shopping district per cruise with markets and historical sites to enjoy

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at back of hotel to avoid town noise at night. We had a little cottage type room withi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann and Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, really pelased to read you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, in the future.

kind regards


Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Given the bomb damage suffered by Southampton, accentuated by the depredations of the city fathers, it's astonishing that an 18th century coaching inn should have survived at all, but that's what this hotel is. Architecturally it is fascinating, trying to piece together the various outbuildings that have been incorporated into the hotel over time. If you want bland rooms and straight corridors, this hotel is not for you: but what it offers is well-equipped rooms down slightly wandering corridors. In hot weather the rooms can be very hot. The restaurant food is good by hotel standards, and a dinner, bed and breakfast deal here offers good value. The staff are always very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and i will ensure your kind words are sahred with the team.

We hope to welcome you back on you next visit to the city.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for a two day conference which started with an evening meal. I arrived very early in the 11th and the staff were very helpful in taking my bag while I spent the day walking around the city centre.
The staff were also very helpful in printing my boarding pass for my flight home.
All of the staff were very cheerful and had lovely smiles on their faces.
Room can become very warm an there is a lack of fresh cool air circulating around the rooms. This was especially true when we held our sessions in the Jane Austin Suite and witb the windows open it was hard to hear the spearkers at times even though amplification was present.
A very enjoyable and pleasent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samuelgcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the team friendly and helpful I will of course ensure your kind words are shared with them.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our room was on the third floor at the front of the hotel. The room itself was pleasant enough but only had single glazing. As it had been a warm day with the sun beating into the room all afternoon we had to leave the windows open and as a result the revellers in the TWO clubs opposite kept us awake until 3 a.m. Take ear plugs or be prepared to get hot and bothered in an airless room.

Room Tip: Do not take a room in the front of the hotel. They overlook the two clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy a good night sleep for which I sincereley apologise.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks,centre location , the hotel is very nice, to be painted.
Very well preserved, 5 minutes away from Tudor's House Museum, from Spitfire Museum, from everything.
Breakfast is awesome, black pudding to die for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, really pleased to read you enjoyed the historic values of the hotel and its location which is perfect for exploring the city.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Old hotel, low or maybe average standard, many stairs, small rooms, staff do not bother about you, not a good food and not very Clean, Location though very good and propably that is we booked but I would not book again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay, I hope you will give us the opportunity to change your perception by staying with us again in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,965 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $63 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing