We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
midlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night before going on a QE cruise and paid £143/- including 15 days parking.
The staff were extremely helpful in carrying our bags from car to bedroom and we did have 4 bags!! A very convenient hotel location and price was good including breakfast and parking. Centre of town location . Our room was slightly away from the main road and main hotel near the car park towards the back which was very good ...the only draw back is no AC ... but there was a small fan which was a big help. Town has a few good restaurants but not much to offer otherwise which was very disappointing as we went a day earlier.
Breakfast was good .

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room near the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and congratulations on leaving the 500th review on the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel since the hotel re opened in May 2010!

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back prior to your next cruise departure

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    481
    370
    197
    127
See reviews for
233
631
103
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here in Jun-13 for one night before taking a cruise out of Southampton on the Celebrity Eclipse. We paid £139 for B&B which included 14 days car parking.
We were quite happy with the deal, the hotel was fine. Our room was reasonably large, and the breakfast was good.
We had arrived quite late on the Saturday evening, and did not use the restaurant, but went to a Wetherspoons only 100yds down the road.
Good, friendly staff. Taxi to the port was £5.00
Certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for your pre crusie stay.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting Goodwood I was put in one of the rooms on Dolphin Lane it was comfortable & had all the usual facilities I had a look a the ceiling is was not exactly level but I believe it is the old stables & about 500 years old so I do not think they are going to fall down soon. The room was a bit noisy during the day but at night no problem at all. It was warm in the room but not excessive. I only had breakfasts at the hotel buffet style seemed to be plenty of choice & good quality. Parking at the hotel is £4 for 24Hrs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynBamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, indeed the room you stayed in was one of the stables with orginal features, but I can assure you it is safe!

We hope to welcome you back perhaps before your next visit to Goodwood?

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This isnt the hotels fault as its been there a long time but opposite is a table top dancing bar and night club next to that so if you are staying there on the weekend don't expect sleep before 3am, the noise was very loud, it didnt help being so hot so our windows were wide open and all the clubbers were outside on the patio area opposite, night club doors open with loud music on.
The staff were very friendly and went out of there way to help, bringing us a fan for the room etc, it was like a sauna! Not often its 30 degrees here so bear that in mind as im sure a stay in the winter with windows shut etc it wouldnt be so bad noise wise.
Shower wasnt great, had water spurting out of various holes so floor was soaked.
I would only stay here again if I was on a night out with the lads.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and no on the high street. My friemds were in a room there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I appreciate your feedback and was pleased to read the staff responded and went out of their way to help.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just arrived home from a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, Staff very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble to them. Breakfast was excellent, our room was on the first floor room 16 it was very specious i thought it was going to be noisey as it is next to the staff entrance but no they must employ very quiet staff. i would certainly use this hotel again if we were to stay in this area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbrit2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and will ensure your kinds words are shared with the team and they ensure they continue to be quiet when starting and finishing work!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy,North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed the night before a17 days cruise,Dinner (excellent) bed and breakfast and parking for the car for 14 days (extra £16 for the extra 3 days)....Total cost £180,00 secure car park at hotel less than parking at ship side.Taxi arranged to and from ship,all so easy. Room was good,all mod cons and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderers099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for your pre cruise stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing