We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed June 25, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank nicholas_mays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night pre cruise, we were allocated a room across the Courtyard, which was clean and comfortable.

The bar is pleasant, but it took the waitress 3 attempts to get my order of an orange juice and lemonade correct, first it was an Archers and lemonade, then an Archers and orange juice before being what I ordered.

I was woken early (before 8 am) by loud conversation outside our window on the ground floor, I assumed this to be inconsiderate guests. However, after 15 minutes it continued down the corridor and into the service/maintenance area next to our room. A quick call to the reception desk and the issue was resolved. These are my reasons for marking service down on this occasion.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for for taking the time to review your stay we really appreciate you feedback which will be taken on board and addressed.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel before your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After walking through what could only be compared to a maze of corridors I managed to find my room tucked away in a very dark corner. Without looking too closely the very small room looked adequate however the array of stains on the carpet, scuffs on the walls, the missing handle from the bath and quite a bit of dust was a disappointment. There was no soap dish in the bathroom and a wooden shelf which had seen better days with chipped paint, a simple soap dish would have prevented this. This lack of attention to detail is what makes me question the 4 star status.... The squeaky floor boards didn't bother me as I understand that the building is old however the tatty decor was not that of a 4 star quality. A cigarette burn on the bed spread/runner thingy, not good enough I am afraid. Privacy was an issue also as our room was overlooked by another. A voile would have sorted this problem. In terms of quality of sleep myself and my partner both slept well and the bed was very comfy. Coming back to the corridors, the drab colour resembled a prison and was actually quite creepy! A light is needed outside room 118! A re decoration would be good as the building is quirky and interesting and deserves a bit of love! Sorry!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I appreciate your detailed feedback and can assure you the parts we are able to change quickly will be addressed immediately.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice in the last couple of weeks and its been great! The rooms are fresh and clean, beds comfortable and everything works! The welcome card from Neil, the GM, and chocolates were a very nice touch.

The bar is lovely and the food excellent.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you have enjoyed your stays with us and appreciate the feedback about my cards!

We hope it will not be too long until we are welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Without doubt the worst hotel I have stayed in this year. Ramshackled goes only so far - so does faded glory. I arrive in June and my room was 32C and just a small fan to try and improve the situation. A labarynth of corridors (I really would not fancy trying to get out in a fire), creaky floos and creaky beds. Bathroom had seen better days.

However, location is good for the city and port and breakfast was good, wifi also worked well first time. I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart_Away_Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay for which I apologise. We do have a duty manager available at all times who could have made your stay more comfortable had you made us aware of your concerns.

The hotel is over 500 years old and as a result does have a few squeeky floorboards but that is part of the hotels character!

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Don't miss a short stay in Southampton and stay at the MercureDolphin. It's a very old institution that has been updated to be a very pleasant experience. The location is the old town, just 2 blocks from Bargate one way and 2 blocks from the Red Lion Pub the other way. All old town attractions are walkable from the Do.phin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edithpennsylvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel on your next visit to the city,

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been to Southampton in September 2012 and stayed in this hotel for two days. I really enjoyed the good English breakfast, which was a little bit too expensive to my oppinion but I think it`s normal for Britain. Especially the coffee was MUCH better than I´d expected from English coffee. Staff were very friendly and gave its best to understand my Special English. The room and especially the bathroom were very comfortable. I really liked the very British atmosphere in this hotel and wouldn`t hesitate to come back again. The only really bad thing was that the coathangers were fixed :-D (only joking, of course)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyvanDoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay in September with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

I really appreciate your feedback and was very pleased you enjoyed the coffee, although I am confused about your score of 3 out of 5 considering you enjoyed your stay?

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $83 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing