We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers regretably miss Southampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Don't miss a short stay in Southampton and stay at the MercureDolphin. It's a very old institution that has been updated to be a very pleasant experience. The location is the old town, just 2 blocks from Bargate one way and 2 blocks from the Red Lion Pub the other way. All old town attractions are walkable from the Do.phin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edithpennsylvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel on your next visit to the city,

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been to Southampton in September 2012 and stayed in this hotel for two days. I really enjoyed the good English breakfast, which was a little bit too expensive to my oppinion but I think it`s normal for Britain. Especially the coffee was MUCH better than I´d expected from English coffee. Staff were very friendly and gave its best to understand my Special English. The room and especially the bathroom were very comfortable. I really liked the very British atmosphere in this hotel and wouldn`t hesitate to come back again. The only really bad thing was that the coathangers were fixed :-D (only joking, of course)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyvanDoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay in September with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

I really appreciate your feedback and was very pleased you enjoyed the coffee, although I am confused about your score of 3 out of 5 considering you enjoyed your stay?

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived very late after a Channel crossing from France. The initial impression did not do justice to the hotel with the reception area, particularly the revolving door, looking more than a little tired round the edges. The staff, however, were welcoming and efficient and the bedroom proved to be large, comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time you visit the city.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a stay here for business great old old building with leaning floors and frames my room as a result was small but quirky and I loved it. Turn left out of the door and walk straight down for the sea, turn right for the city centre, great location. Didn't use the bar or eat either dinner or breakfast so can't comment there but would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel, really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully you can try the breakfast and have dinner with us on your next stay?

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Rooms were not standard, but adequate, some steps to get from one level to another after elevator. Bathrooms o.k. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Right in the heart of Southampton. Noisy with the buses turning in the street at the corner!!

Room Tip: Stay away from front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us, we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in a suite b & b basis for 2 nights & used our tesco vouchers as part payment.
The external & internal look of the hotel is superb , very much to our taste & very clean.
We booked in and the receptionist was friendly & helpful.
We were really pleased with our suite, the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. We had an adequate bathroom which included useful toiletries we also had a small separate lounge area. The suite was very clean & chamber maid came in on 2nd to tidy & restock towels & tea/coffee. My only fault which is small & we didn't complain, when opening sash window in lounge we were confronted with a fire escape which was covered in a large amount of pigeon mess. They seem to be nesting in this area (on reflection I should have mentioned it so it could be sorted)
We slept very well our room was quiet.
Breakfast was buffet style with some menu options. The food was lovely & we liked the self service style.
We enjoyed our stay at the dolphin & would recommend this hotel plus Southampton is a lovely city

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel in the not too far distant future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for one night it says 4 star I am not one to try to give negative reviews but honestly don't think its worth 4 stars the room was very small with average bathroom ( travel lodge are larger) found stain on carpets one of the lights did not work it had no air conditioning but to be fair there was a small fan as we were on ground floor didn't want to leave windows open all night however there were ample tea and coffee facilities and towels the bed was comfy as we stayed just the one night we did not complain but it was not worth 4 stars I think

Room Tip: room 008 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoksies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I appreciate your feedback and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $70 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing