We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good location”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Only problem I have with this hotel each time I stay is the service at the bar. I appreciate that staff help out in all areas but having to wait 5 minutes for some "presence" in the bar and asking the reception to help is not the best of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on your stays here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, I appreciate your feedback

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    481
    370
    197
    127
See reviews for
233
631
103
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Dolphin - or Mercure Dolphin as we should now know it, is in one of the oldest parts of this historically interesting port. We are told that Jane Austen boogied the night away here and that it has the biggest bow windows anywhere. The time trail nearby tells us of Southampton's fascinating past, including Titanic and D-Day. There are some very old buildings within a short walk, and it is easy to imagine the rough trade of the old jack tars as they staggered up and down the High Street, full of rum, good cheer and with a lady of the night on each arm.

If you stay in the Mercure you can hear that very scene re-enacted tonight. I don't think it is the local tourist board trying to add a touch of authentic port atmosphere. Just the patrons of the bars, table-dancing clubs and restaurants of many ethnic cuisines having a good and loud time until around 4 or 5 in the morning. At times we felt as though they were in bed with us - we could almost join in their colorful conversations.

This is not the hotel's fault, but we could have been warned and asked if we were light sleepers so that we could have damage limitation in another room.

The hotel is clearly very old and the refurbishment - in tasteful but somewhat gloomy hues - is OK. The pictures on the walls were unbelievably boring. The stairs creak. There is a faint suspicion of "making do" here. Maybe it is work-in-progress.

Not a disaster . Staff were very helpful generally. But we are not light sleepers, thank goodness.

C&J
Berkshire, UK

Room Tip: We had a room directly above the crest at the front. Try anything else - preferably right at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and apologise that you were disturbed by the extrenal noise we will ensure you are allocated a different room on your next stay

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed just for one night on a business trip. The room was fine comfortable bed good quality shower and good WiFi reception. Had a meal from the bar menu which was fine but nothing special. All the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. Check in and out quick and efficient

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I was delighted to read you found the team friendly and I will ensure yoi kind words are communicated to them.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent an unexpected night in Southampton. Very good central location although this part of the town is shabby.
Hotel is trying to make the best of an old buiding however the rooms were small and dingy.
Maybe more powerfull bulbs would help?

Reservation staff helpfull and efficient.
Breakfast was really good, quality food well cooked and great service. I did not have dinner but if it is up to the same standard try it..

Very good parking in locked area at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Clive U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

We appreciate your constructve feedback and were pleased there were a number of postitve aspects to your stay

kind regards


Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

this is an old hotel no a/c our room was on the side of an passage way between two buildings very noisy tried to get some sleep but kept on waking up as people were yelling and screaming in the streets never again will we stay there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am sorry to read you were disturbed by noise, we may have been able to move you to another room if you had made us aware. I do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a business trip and will be returning. Staff were very thoughtful and welcoming. Bed was really comfortable, hotel had character, instead of air conditioning, which I hate, the rooms had radiators for heat and windows for fresh air, which was fab. Free WiFi throughout the hotel and flapjacks provided in the room, along with tea/coffee with fresh milk. When away on business it's little home comforts that make a real difference and I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the free wifi which we introduced from January this year.

We hope to see you again soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked our room more than 3 months ago for a family wedding yesterday, (23rd Feb. 2013), asked specifically for a room suitable for a disabled person, (my husband has quite severe Emphesema) so stairs are a no no for him. Was asked when booking if he could manage 3 stairs, and I said that was not a problem. His breathing is seriously affected by cold air.
Unfortunately I was unwell yesterday and he went on his own. On booking in, he was again asked if he could manage about 3 stairs, and he said he could. When he got out of the lift on the 3rd floor, it was like a cross country treck, he went through doors, along passages, up 4/5 stairs to a landing, down 10 to another floor. When he reached the room (301) it was at the end of the passage, the farthest away from the lift. He was pulling a small trolly case and carrying a suiter, and when he managed to get into the room, collapsed into a chair, completely out of breath! He also had to stop to get his breath once along the corridor!
The room was spacious, but cold, the radiator had no regulator to adjust the temperature. The bed appeared ok, but when he looked for the en-suite guess where it was? Back out to the passage that led from the room door and down a flight of steps, about 9, and the bathroom was at the bottom almost on another floor!!!!! The only light switch he could see was at the bottom of the stairs, he also didn't think there were any handrails.
He had a choice of staying the night in a cold room and run the risk of falling down the stairs and doing serious injury to himself when he went to the toilet during the night, or coming home. He chose, not unsurprisingly, to come home to a warm safe house with an en-suite in the bedroom.
It cost £89 for the privelidge of changing into his wedding suit as that is all the room was used for!!!!!!

Room Tip: All I know is, room 301 is not suitable for anyone who isn't flghting fit and doesn't need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie-Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest

We have clearly allocated your husband a room that is not suitable for which I sincerely apologise. However at no point have we advised that the room is one of our adapted rooms.

There are parts of your review that are factually incorrect, there is a light switch at the top of the stairs and there are handrails either side of the steps that lead to the bathroom, should assistance be needed.

Whilst I appreciate your husband may not have wanted to make a fuss,if he had made us aware we could have offered him a more suitable room whilst he was attending the wedding.

We have been in touch with your to address this matter with you.

Thank you for your feedback on the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing