We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value one night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good value one night stay!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at the Dolphin for one night at a very reasonable price including breakfast! The welcome was organised and efficient. The room was decorated in the usual Mercure style and was reasonably spacious and had a very modern bathroom with lovely toiletries!
The temperature throughout the hotel was lovely and warm which is important at this time of the year!
Following a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed the breakfast was served well. Nothing was too much trouble or the staff and the hot and cold buffet was enjoyable!
All the staff were pleasant ,friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel warm and comfortable we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Hotel very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    481
    370
    197
    127
See reviews for
233
631
103
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a winter break deal. Value for money or what.!!!!!
Reception staff were bright and cheerful, My room was upgraded as part of the deal, 2 course dinner, bottle of wine, breakfast and parking all included.
The room was clean with a shower that nearly knocked me off my feet.(no water pressure issues there) there was some paint peeling off the wall a little in the bathroom but not enough to worry me about.
All staff encountered were helpful and cheery. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, the buffet breakfast had a wide variety of hot and cold dishes which were constantly topped up with fresh food.

Room Tip: get a room at the back of the hotel as there are some pubs and bars opposite which could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind words to the team who will be delighted. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A few nights at this centre location in Southampton. Easy to walk all over the city. Rooms was on the first floor and large and comfortable. En suite was nearly as big as the room (but a few tiles need replacing). Breakfast was a good selction of contental and cooked breakfasts. The quality of the sauages was excellant (my test of brekfast) with a exceptional range of Jams for toast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us I was delighted you enjoyd your stay and the sausages and jams.

We hope to have the pleasure of wecomng you back to the Mercure Soutampton Centre Dolphin hotel very soon

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a very old hotel in Southampton.it has been newly refurbished and very clean and comfy.it is near the Solent and very handy for shopping, cinema and plenty of eating places. There. Are gyms in the hotel and Southampton. A great pool at the quays.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 731nikki731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercue Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great value and very lovely. The location is spot-on. The reception staff are excellent. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast. My room number was taken and I was asked to sit anywhere. Waiting for someone to take my hot drink and hot food order was rediculous. It would have been a crazy wait for even the most casual breakfast. My porridge when it came was blinking awful. Not a great way to end what was otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warlock1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I really appreicate your feedback and my apologies that your experience at breakfast was not up to our usual high standards. Please be assured your comments will be discussed with the team.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for a night at the last minute and got a good rate (£59.00 for Sunday night). The room was clean and smart, and the general feel was of a more upmarket establishment than the price suggests. We needed some help from the reception staff and their service was faultless. It is also opposite 'Coriander', possibly the best curry house I've been to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and felt it was very good value we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I must have stayed here five or six times over the years since 1993 and have always enjoyed its hospitality but under the present management its better than ever. The room was clean and comfortable yet maintained its "Dolphin" charm. The staff was courteous and helpful and the breakfast was outstanding. I'm definitely looking forward to staying here again on my next trip to Southampton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Transatlantic736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review we really appreicate your comments and your feedback will delight the team.

I am really pleased you look forward to returning, we look forward to wecolming you back to the Mercure Southampto Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing