We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay prior to cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last year and that is the reason we stayed this year prior to a cruise.
Have to say we were dissapointed, check in was fine and room was ready at 1215 which was nice. However the rooms and in particular the bathroom badly needs decorating window in bathroom had paint peeling from frames also there was mould on the frame reccesses and also there was mould on the grab handles on the bath (but this is just down to bad room cleaning).

Also the shower over bath was useless could have had a better shower with a water pisitol !!
We booked in for BB and dinner, breakfast was ok but dinner was average service was very slow, after the main course we asked if we would like to see the swwet menu, yes please i said but after 20 to 25 min's the( head waiter i think) asked why or if we were waiting and i said we were still waiting to see the sweet menu, this he rectified and we ordered, he did appolgise when i signed the bill.

In the morning after breakfast and a bit of shopping we returned to the hotel to kill time before going to the cruise terminal we went into the lounge bar and were asked by the receptionist if we would like coffe yes please i replied she said ok i will get someone however this was at 1015 the coffe never showed up by 1130, by this time we had gone off the idea and had to leave the hotel. for the cruise terminal.

Would i stay here again? not unless the room and restaurant service is immproved.
If you use sat nav to arrive at the hotel you need to enter BACK OF THE WALLS and this will take you to the rear of the hotel and car park.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of hotel overlooking courtyard view is not good but there is no traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musiotunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us.

I was disapointed to read of the issues you encounterted with your allocated room and for the poor service in the restaurant, for which I sincereley apologise. I would like to reassure you that this is not reflective of the high standards we offer and your feedback will be addressed with my team.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed in July 2011 got a great group, family deal. Hotel was a great base for exploring the south. Staff where very friendly if initially a little starch. Great rooms for the price. Only issue were lack of parking space. Car park spaces where reserved for guests who where on a cruise. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest

We really appeciate your feedback, our car park does get very busy but there is plenty of overflow parking available at discounted rates.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcomng you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I travel to Southampton with work fairly regularly and have tried several of the hotels in the city. This one remains my favourite for a number of reasons. Firstly it's clean, comfortable, and the staff are excellent. It's also in a great central location with lovely restaurants and bars on your doorstep. And they also have a decent car park on site. The other guests tend to be elderly couples staying overnight before embarking on a cruise, so it's generally very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your experiences with us. I am delighted to read you rate us as your favourite hotel in the city and I will of course pass on your feedback to the team.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcomg you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The only issues I have with this hotel relate to the room. The service, breakfast, decor of hotel etc were all if a high standard.

However our actual room was another story. The actual decor was very modern and clean. The room was far too small for two people though and was quite hot. Unfortunately we were on the ground floor so we couldn't keep the window open. Not that we would want to keep it open anyway because the hotel smoking area was outside our window. This meant that it was noisy enough until the early hours, and that was with the window closed. In the Summer I would think that this is unbearable. The bathroom was also very small.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I really appreciate your feedback that will help us to improve the service and facilities we offer.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and we will of course ensure you are allocated a different room

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for two nights in this hotel. Room was very good and all the equipment worked.The maid service was excellent. Although their was a limited amount of staff everyone could not do enough to help you when needed. Although the hotel was a bit dated and could do with a referbishment. staff were excellent and all meals were of a high standard as was the breakfast. Would have no hesitation in staying here again. Only down side was not used to waking up with screeching seagulls.

Room Tip: choose above 1st floor cause floor squeaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will of course ensure your kind words are communciated to the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Dolphin on the 28/09 and 29/09 for our Wedding in the Jane Austen suite.

Check in was effortless, and soooo helpful, nothing was too much for any of the staff.

The suite 204 was brilliant and bigger than I excepted! It had a bedroom, bathroom and a separate living area, and had two flat screen TV's. It was clean and very comfortable.

The staff set up the room for the wedding, and it was truly beautiful, and they were more than happy for me to help.

The wedding day, every one was happy to help with all my needs, getting ready.

All the wedding guests were very impressed with hotel too.

Breakfast was just enough and it's buffet and it was laid out in a way that was easily accessible, there is also a choice of continental and cooked, and replenished frequently.

Personally I did not hear any noise from the clubs/pubs nearby by as i have read in other reviews but what needs to remembered is the hotel is something like 400 years old and was there first and well established. Also the convenience. To town has to be taken into account.

Parking is £4.00 for 24 hours, this is extremely reasonable for southampton parking, you will pay more, and if you use else where you will have some way to walk.

I have thanked the staff with a card, as there are certain members who truly stand out.

But thank you for making our day the most truly magical day of our life.

Kindest Regards

B Rickman


  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonnru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Mrs Rickman

thank you so much for your kind words

The whole team are delighted that you had a day to remember, it was a real pleasure to host your special day.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We extended a short trip down to the south coast and booked for a night in the Dolphin so we could experience Southampton. I had my Satnav so no issues finding the hotel with just one issue which was it directed me to the front of the hotel and the car park was at the rear so just a small 3-point turn to drive around to that. The hotel has a nice walk through from the car park to reception which has a courtyard effect and you walk between the rooms on either side, I liked it, it had character. It also has some history with Queen Victoria and Admiral Lord Nelson having stayed there and if it was good enough for them it was good enough for us.. Seriously though, sadly we saw none of the ghosts reputed to be in the hotel and as we had a long drive the following day up to our friends in the Cotswolds didn't even get any spirits in the bar..hoho.. The reception staff were polite and helpful and efficient. The hotel has a nice creaky feel to it due to its age and although the walk to the room was through various corridors it meant we had a nice view over the walk-through I mentioned earlier. The room was excellent and appeared to be quite new or renovated. The bathroom was nice and shower was fine. As a place to use as a base for visiting the city I'd recommend it.. Close by we had a meal in the Rasraj on Oxford street, excellent great food excellent service, only two chaps working in the restaurant with about 14 covers and it was a great dining experience, the atmosphere was perfect, the restaurant is on a corner and you get the feel it was once a bank or something like that, the food comes up via a dumb waiter so no kitchens in site.. its about a 5 minute walk from the hotel so great location. I'd definitely visit the Dolphin again and it's the first time of staying in a Mercure hotel and wont be the last..

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the walk-through it was a nice view for a centre-city hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NovaChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest

I really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the character of this wonderful buidling.

It is great to read you would like to stay again so we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,762 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 25 in Southampton
996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $72 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing