We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Nearby Hotels
$111
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$73
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Keys(Southampton)
$131
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (1,664)
Filter reviews
1,664 results
Traveler rating
336
530
423
228
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
530
423
228
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomhigh streetone way systemcruise packagecity centrethe hotel car parkoxford streetstayed here for one nightisle of wightfull englishgood nights sleepcruise terminaldolphinswetherspoonsportannexdocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,430 - 1,435 of 1,664 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We had a large room in an annex overlooking the hotel courtyard. This proved to be very quiet location and easy to move large quantities of cruise luggage from the car. The only issue could be a feeling of insecurity as the room door was directly to outside.

The car park is big for a city centre hotel but probably not big enough at busy times. We had no trouble finding a parking space as there were spaces reserved for cruise package guests.

Mercure are a big chain of hotels but this hotel still has an individual character. The hotel has been sympathetically restored. The food and service were both excellent and the package was very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel before your next cruise.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Dolphin Hotel is in a good location to visit the local area. It is in the historic old town with medieval buildings and Bargate nearby. Right outside the door, there is a bus stop for a line that goes from the water to the train station. There is 3L parking behind the hotel, so we parked the car and used public transportation. There pedestrian walk-ways near the medieval wall and shopping mall and one-way streets, so getting to the parking lot can be a challenge.

The hotel was recently renovated, so it has the modern amenities. We had a king suite with coach on the third floor with a good view. By UK standards, it was a very spacious room.

The one thing that wasn't changed in the renovation was the windows. As a result, you can hear the traffic, nearby pub, and quarter-hour clock chimes throughout the night. The first night we didn't sleep well. On the second, our bodies had adjusted to the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GR_MI_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I booked late & as it was a pure " overnight" I didn't do my research. The price I paid was apparently heavily discounted down to £109 but this was very poor value for money. Room was dirty, old, poorly designed, stuffy ( although I did find a portable fan in the wardrobe), it overlooked the kitchen & was noisy & the curtains were inadequate to keep light out. The worst part was the bathroom which was like a shabby French hotel - filthy, grout chipped out of the tiles, a bath adequate only if you are less the 4 feet tall, the shower itself was just the basic " connect to the bath taps" type & when the water hit you, it sprayed all over the bathroom floor. I had to leave early the next day but unfortunately, reception was unmanned, there was a sign asking me to ring a number but there was no reply.
Come on guys, stop ripping us off and set a fair price for rooms ( I don't mind " basic " rooms, as long as I am charged "basic" prices). Tip for future guests, they insist you pay upfront so I suggest you insist on checking the room first!

Room Tip: See the room before you pay
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harleyfamilyGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to read you found your stay represented poor valve for which I apologise.

Your feedback will be taken on board and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is the second year we have stayed at this hotel as part of a cruise package, it is very convieniently located to the docks and the food and service was good but the rooms were far too hot, we thought it was a one off last year but found it to be the same this year, we complained this year and was moved to the ground floor which was a little better but we couldn't leave the windows open. The receptionist told us the hotel wasn't allowed air conditioning and that the heating had been switched off since April but the walls in the corridors felt warm to the touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 837bev158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review

I appreciate your comments and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We arrived at the hotel around 18.00 on a Saturday evening in August. The car park was completely full due apparently to a cruise package, but by being "creative" we managed to make a space for ourselves.

Reception was correct if a bit amateurish, and check-in was smooth enough.

The room however was pokey - cramped, worn furniture, all a little run-down - paint in the bathroom was peeling and worn and fittings were loose or wonky,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlBiz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was sorry to read there were elements of your stay that were not up to our usual high standards for which I apologise and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews