We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing head chef !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Medbar

Medbar
Ranked #452 of 846 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Drink, Dine & Dance The Perfect Venue For Every Occasion Situated in the busy and historic Oxford Street, Medbar & La Penthouse restaurant brings a warm welcome and friendly service, whether you are here to enjoy a quick snack, lunch with friends or a Seafood or Meat feast for that special occasion. It's the perfect place to dine or drink, whether it be our vibrant bar or fabulous restaurant What makes us different to other restauants is our attention to detail and focus on quality. In all we do, from building a new restaurant to choosing our people and preparing our food, we are passionate about doing everything to the best standard possible. We have good looks with a warm and inviting ambience and have fantastic people, they are knowledgable and professional. We have fabulous food, carefully sourced and freshly cooked. Come and enjoy the great experience.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing head chef !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was so good. The food was great, the atmospher and service was exelent. After dinner we asked for the chef to say thank you to him for the delicious food.
Ps. He was nice for the chef to come out because you dont get that in many places. He is too young to cook like this !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conia17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    36
    19
    14
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food - Pleasantly Suprised.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Found it by chance as we where on our way to Pizza Express and noticed it on the other side of the road. Glad we went inside as the service was first class and the food was excellent. I had Chicken breast with rice and it was superb, my wife had the Seafood kebab which was also very good.

Cooked to perfection and will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartjmorleyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing at best...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just returned from a night out here for a friend's birthday. Restaurant was chosen based on previous good reviews, but these seemed completely unfounded...
Night started poorly when we were informed that the advertised Happy Hour of "5pm to 8pm" didn't actually start until 6:30, resulting in us taking our custom to a different bar for over an hour and a half. (which when the bar is totally empty, seems like very poor business acumen). When we returned for food things didn't improve. The cocktails were some of the worst we've ever had: both the bello is and margaritas were almost undrinkable and the food was over-priced, poor quality and in one case the seafood was raw. The staff did not care when these issues were raised, so I would advise against this restaurant, especially when there are so many other (much better) ones on the same street.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Super friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went to this restaurant last Saturday lunchtime with friends. Were greeted and served by a
charming and very friendly young lady who we learned is from Albania.

We had the 2 course special at a very good price. All of us had the paella for the main course
which we found really good. Would certainly recommend here for a lunchtime meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffroberts994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediterranean ??????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having read the previous reviews, all complimenting the food, I am a little confused.. maybe I am wrong in expecting a Mediterranean restaurant to serve just that ???
I absolutely love med food, so was eagerly waiting to try the place. So I was somewhat amused/bemused/confused to find the menu was 90% non med... with a sprinkling of med option ..
actually one per, i think three countries ???
Med food is wonderful, a wonderful choice of starter and mains ... I ended up with veal wrapped in bacon and my partner, duck ... ???? both were ok and tasted nice .. but we wanted med food !!

Casserole is one of the wonders of the med world ... no where to be seen .. Turkey was excluded from the menu .. yes it is part of the med and has wonderful food ...

So We won't be returning again as 90% of the menu was available at any of the local restaurants ... disappointed ..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard_Soton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medbar also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Medbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing