We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super little cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sulas Greek Taverna

Sulas Greek Taverna
Ranked #5 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are an informal little Greek Taverna in the heart of Portswood. Selling Traditional Greek Food including the ever popular Pita Gyros, Souvlaki, Homemade 200g Bifteki Burgers, Homemade Moussaka, Greek Salads and Meze. We serve Mythos and Wine. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and quality products. Our food is all cooked fresh to order on the griddle so you can watch the chefs in action.We can seat approx 40 people in our combined areas and large party bookings are welcome by prior arrangement. We accept orders via collection for takeaway.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Walked past the cafe on Thurs and then stumbled on tripadvisor reviews which were really positive. Took my wife there this eve for a treat & glad I did. The service was superb. Food was really tasty but they had run out of moussaka which was a shame! Would definitely recommend this cafe & have already planned to return later this month for my friend's birthday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikey-J1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    84
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
“I found a piece of Greece on a very Rainy Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Porstwood High Street was flowing with rain water today. We came across Sulas, on the High Street. I am part Greek so my expectations of this Greek Cafe were not good, I was very pleasantly surprised. I was met by the staff who went out of their way to ensure we were seated, warm and happy. My partner went for the Fully Loaded Burger. It was explained to us that the burgers were made fresh on site, we were told the ingredients, how refreshing to buy food and actually know what you are eating. I must say this was one of the tastiest burgers ever. You could almost taste the freshness. The Burger was oozing with meat juices but NO fat or grease. It was served with griddle Halloumi cheese and a slice of Back Bacon in a toasted roll with salad. Lovely - we found a healthy burger all the taste none of the fat. None of that heavy feeling in your stomach when you have finished. I settled for the Griddled Chicken Fillet. Once again it was also explianed how the Chicken was marinated. The Greek Salad was cut and made fresh to order. The Kalamata Olives and Feta cheese you could tell were Greek.The chips were served hot and seasoned. The home made Moussaka was cooking in the oven when we were there today, it smely delicious. All this with soft Greek Music playing in the background. The menu is very reasonably priced, surprising considering the quality of the food that was served. We then shared a portion of Baklava, just the right amount of sweet sticky syrup.
I would def recommend this to people looking for fresh flavousome food. There is a kiddies menu for youngsters.
It as also explained how the menu was designed so that you could choose exactly how much and what you wanted. You could buy the meat seperately and build your own meat platters etc etc.
All in all a great friendly experience with top quality service and food. WE have just reserved a table for Sat night when we will be coming back with the parents.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Verjinia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

So glad I found this little place! Lovely food and does take away, staff were really friendly and helped us with the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucylocket18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Been here twice so far and cannot wait to go back! The food is gorgeous and is proper authentic Greek food! The staff are lovely and really care about the food and the service and the atmosphere is lovely and intimate. Would recommend to everyone! Best Greek food in Southampton!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadab93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe 100% recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Lovely tzatziki, Greek pitta bread was absolutely delicious, wide range of gorgeous food recommend it lovely owner who is very customer facing and brilliant service and you can also nip to waitrose to get a bottle of Stella.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sulas Greek Taverna also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Sulas Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing