We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and cosy great food great service”
Review of The Summit - CLOSED

The Summit
Price range: $7 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Description: International Tapas
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy great food great service”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were excited to hear of the Summit opening up and that nice new independent businesses are opening up in Bitterne. Having been meaning to head up from Portswood to the Summit for a few months we eventually found the time this November and booked ourselves in (my partner and myself) for a Tuesday night dinner.

Such a cute and inviting little place with only a few tables and the kitchen in the same room. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we could bring our own wine at only £2.50 corkage per person so came along with a lovely bottle knowing that all the money we spent there would be purely on the food!

We began with the Summit starter, toasted flat breads with an array of lovely dips which was delicious. Then we had a variety of tapas - 6 in total between us ( which really filled us up! ) and thoroughly enjoyed every one.

My favourites were the tempura calamari and the fish cakes mmmm delish. The accompanying sauces are fantastic with every tapas. We seemed to go for mostly South American and Asian inspired dishes.

Overall we had a lovely evening with very attentive and friendly service and great food - can't fault it, we'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virghosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great and fresh food”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Impressed by this little place.....great range of food and all freshly cooked. It does take a while to be served but it's worth the wait. It's byob too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh flavours and great service!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I visited The Summit this evening for a quiet meal with my mum. I can honestly say that the food was a great surprise and the service was excellent. The owners bent over backwards to be helpful and to provide anything we needed. The tapas menu was simple and the tastes complex. We shared four tapas dishes and a dessert each and I was perfectly full by the end of the meal. To be honest I wanted to try every dish on the menu but then i`ll definately be back to try some more! You tell the food was freshly made and that they used great ingredients. Unusual and lovely food and service thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hidynol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was recommended to come here by my mum and dad as they rave about it, and I was not disappointed. Lovely little place,friendly staff and AMAZING FOOD!

Will be back very soon with friends! Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucylocket18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky place, amazing food!!!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Can't recommend this place enough! The food was cooked from fresh and tasted amazing and the staff were extremely friendly! Will definitely be going again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summit also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing