We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 10 Self Catering
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A genuine home from home”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Landguard Road, is, let's be honest, a pretty dispiriting drag of b&bs and guest houses. I arrived at Number 10 on my birthday with a four-week stay stretching ahead and sat in the car in this dreary road dreading what I was going to find. Imagine my surprise and delight to find such welcoming hosts (Mark and Andy) and 5 star accommodation. My room was big and airy, two bathrooms to choose from, wifi, laundry room, tv lounge and my current pride and joy - a fully fitted kitchen with two ovens! It has been a genuine home from home, and while I'm pleased to stop living out of a suitcase I am sorry to be leaving Number 10. Thanks, guys!
alan@alan-geere.com

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were going on an early fishing trip the following morning and couldn't have been happier. We were greeted by a very friendly Andy who escorted us to our room. The house is immaculately clean and very well presented. As we weren't going to be around for breakfast, the kitchen was really useful in that we could stash our picnic and also prepare a quick breakfast in the morning. We had originally booked a room with a shared bathroom but were fortunate that there had been a cancellation so we upgraded to en suite. We did take a peek into the shared bathrooms and they were equally as clean and presentable as the rest of this lovely Victorian house. We would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to come back here next time we're in Southampton. Thank you Andy and Mark.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnet_lolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have previously stayed across the road at the Mayfair guesthouse which is also owned by Mark and Andy. On this occasion, it was fully booked so the owners recommend staying in their new self catering accommodation... "Number 10"...this is new, fresh, modern, homely and done to a superb standard. Like the Mayfair, standards are high and the reviews speak for themselves - rooms are HUGE and the ensuite very clean and modern. This facility allows you that bit more independence with shared kitchen, lounge and washing facilities, albeit we didn't need that but leans superbly for those needing it or if you're working in the area short to medium term and want a little more than just four walls of a generic hotel.

Excellent idea in a good location for the port, theatre and some good local restaurants.

We would recommend...it really is self catering boutique style but without the price tag!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tremmers28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We feel lucky to have found Number 10. We stayed here for our last two weeks in Southampton prior to moving abroad and it was exactly what we needed.

We stayed in one of the "standard rooms" with a shared bathroom. The room was big and well presented, as in the website photos. There are two standard rooms sharing two bathrooms, so we never had to wait to use the facilities. The bathrooms themselves are kept very clean and the showers are superb! Other shared facilities are great. The kitchen is well-equipped and each room has its own locked cupboard. Laundry facilities etc. are also good and seem sufficient for the number of guests.

The owners of Number 10 (who run the Mayfair Guesthouse B&B over the road) are extremely friendly and helpful; they made us very welcome and looked after us well but never felt intrusive.

The accommodation is very well situated, close to the train station and the city centre. It's also a great price for what you get - a lot cheaper than a serviced apartment, for example. All things considered, Number 10 is ideal for someone moving to/from Southampton or visiting for a couple of weeks.

Room Tip: The lack on en-suite facilities for the standard room is not a problem. The bathrooms are close and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbagesofdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My son started at uni and I needed somewhere to stay. What luck that I found this accommodation. Mark was really welcoming and I loved my spacious room. I could use the lounge and kitchen and had a chance to meet other people staying there. There was even a washing machine. I wanted to stay in the main guest house but this was fully booked. The self catering house was over the road. It was immaculately clean. I would not hesitate to return next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosT20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended accommodation in Southampton! Room was beautiful, clean and very cosy!! Breakfast across the road at The Mayfair Guest House was fantastic and owners extremely welcoming and helpful!!
PS. If you want to see a good looking lad in the kitchen ...preparing your breakfast ....this is the right place ;)


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxKarolaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed hear from a few days this week. Very nice rooms and facilities , immaculately clean and tidy, and everything working as it should! The owners were both very friendly and even allowed us to have breakfast at their B&B opposite. For those who look for a definitive , would I recommend this as a self catering venue? Yes! I do not honestly think you will find better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andymc1136r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
1.0 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 10 Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 10 Self Catering

Property: Number 10 Self Catering
Address: 10 Landguard Road, Southampton SO15 5DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 10 offers high quality serviced, self-catering guest accommodation in Southampton, Hampshire. It is a great alternative to a hotel or bed and breakfast, offering guests the freedom to come and go as they wish without being tied to formal meal times. We have 6 large guest bedrooms, a communal kitchen, lounge, laundry room and garden. There is also ample off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Number 10 Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing