We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food, 70's style decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orange Rooms

The Orange Rooms
Ranked #122 of 846 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
171 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Tasty food, 70's style decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a quick burger with my wife at tea time and enjoyed it. The menu is a simple selection of burgers, hot dogs and sides. They are not run of the mill burgers, as they include brioche style buns, deli meats, onion bhajis, chilli, etc depending on your choice. You add other toppings at £1.25 a pop to make an awesome burger.

The burgers and hot dogs come with fries in a cardboard takeaway box (nice touch). I had the Brooklyn Burger (chicken) with deli meat, Parmesan cheese, black pepper and sun dried tomatoes. My wife had the korma burger that has the onion bhaji and coconut. The bhaji was a little under done, but not a deal breaker.

They do vegetarian dishes and even a Reindeer burger (winter menu). For the hungry they do Man v Food style food challenges. One is the Challenge Burger (12oz of burgers, chicken dippers and sides) and the other the Big Dawg (32" of sausage and sides). Finish them and win a T shirt.

Venue has areas that can be hired and they have a disco and massive projector screen for film Wednesdays. There are often voucher promos with two burgers, fries and a soda for £4.95 each - check out their website.

Will be going again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran_Orange, Manager at The Orange Rooms, responded to this review, March 15, 2016
Hey,

Thank you for taking the time to upload such a great review and sorry we've taken so long to reply!!!

If you are coming down any time soon please feel free to pop me over an email and I can reserve you a table area for eating if you'd like or even a table area for the evening for cocktails and lovely drinks!

Kieran@orangerooms.co.uk

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    23
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I <3 Orange Rooms!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I absolutely love orange rooms, the atmosphere, the staff, the food all put together just equals a great place that anyone can enjoy. The service is more than friendly you feel so welcomed. The food is really good and cooked to perfection, and does not taste like nasty cheap products you find in most bars. The staff really make all that difference, Jess in particular who I find so lovely and helpful, always smiling and easy to talk too. The guys are really polite and down to earth, many people say this place is very pretenious, far from it. I have had chilled drinks in the day, lunch dinner and then clubbing at evening every time being great. The cocktails are incredible I can name ten that i already love. Great prices and deals and music this is definitely the place to be in Southampton whether you want a night out or just a meal. Please go here and do not miss it!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emstreety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran_Orange, Manager at The Orange Rooms, responded to this review, March 15, 2016
Hey Emstreety,

Thank you for taking the time to upload such a great review and sorry we've taken so long to reply!!!

If you are coming down any time soon please feel free to pop me over an email and I can reserve you a table area for eating if you'd like or even a table area for the evening for cocktails and lovely drinks!

Kieran@orangerooms.co.uk

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If the DJ plays better, one of the best places in Southampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We moved to Southampton some 2 months ago and have been trying to find the place where to go in the evening, have fun, find new friends without spending a fortune - pubs in UK are generaly more expensive, than anywhere else. This place rocks! Finally we found the place, where to go, we will definetely be back soon. Prices are very reasonable, they have very original drinks, my suggestion - try The Chesterfield - they have one of the best I ever had, probably because they use original Mount Gay Rum from Barbados to do it. Place is centrally located, very close to London Street and Bedford place, so you are not lost in the middle of nowhere after your visit. There are plenty of taxis or bus stops around. We did not try food this time, what a pity, we stoped in the fast food on the way there, did not expected, they even have food there. But the place smells great and as we spied on other tables - the portions were huge. On the constructive side and information for manager of this place - please, find better DJ. That one, which performed 10th of January was not really fitting this place. I am quite sure, you can find better in Southampton. In my opinion, he was the reason, why some many people left so early. We are sure, you can find better in Southampton area. Otherwise, this is THE PLACE and we will come back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miroslav8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran_Orange, Manager at The Orange Rooms, responded to this review, March 15, 2016
Hey Miroslav,

Thank you for taking the time to upload such a great review and sorry we've taken so long to reply!!!

If you are coming down any time soon please feel free to pop me over an email and I can reserve you a table area for eating if you'd like or even a table area for the evening for cocktails and lovely drinks!

Kieran@orangerooms.co.uk

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Came into orangerooms today to try the new food. The bar staff we friendly and helpful, the food came out quickly and well presented and tasted amazing. Will defiantly return

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beario1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran_Orange, Manager at The Orange Rooms, responded to this review, March 15, 2016
Hey,

Thank you for taking the time to upload such a great review and sorry we've taken so long to reply!!!

If you are coming down any time soon please feel free to pop me over an email and I can reserve you a table area for eating if you'd like or even a table area for the evening for cocktails and lovely drinks!

Kieran@orangerooms.co.uk

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you are looking for an indulgent tasty burger and stodgy sides then this is the place. The burgers are home made, full of flavour and highly satisfying! There is a huge choice as well as salad and wrap options if you are looking for a lighter bite. They also do amazing sides of sweet potato chips and nachos. Good value comfort eating at its best. Great for a pre night out feed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pocketpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran_Orange, Manager at The Orange Rooms, responded to this review, March 15, 2016
Hey Pocketpolly,

Thank you for taking the time to upload such a great review and sorry we've taken so long to reply!!!

If you are coming down any time soon please feel free to pop me over an email and I can reserve you a table area for eating if you'd like or even a table area for the evening for cocktails and lovely drinks!

Kieran@orangerooms.co.uk

Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orange Rooms also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Orange Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing