We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pig in the Wall
Ranked #2 of 44 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night before our voyage on the Queen Mary 2 and what a fab night it was. Our room was cozy, high quality bedding and a chic décor. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our breakfast was delicious and the coffee was superb. If it wasn't for us getting on the ship I would have stayed longer. I would definitely book this unique hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 414 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for our pilgrimage to boat show and this hotel was the star !
Loved so many things about the decor,the plants,plates ,colour schemes etc but by far the best was the service from the staff-faultless from check in to departure . Food,beer great and my little brunette loved every minute of it.
We will be back.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong staying here,walk the city Walls too a great ramble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for one night but could happily have stayed longer.
I was impressed with the reception & friendliness of the staff.
The rooms are individual with excellent bathrooms, superb quality linen & really comfortable beds but anyone expecting 'international chain hotel' space will be disappointed & perhaps the prices would lead you to expect this.
Other commentators have criticised the breakfast arrangements but for us they were excellent, suited our needs exactly & we really appreciated the quality of the locally sourced produce.
I've only rated The Pig 4/5 due to the price but will certainly be staying there again in the future as I loved the individual nature of the property & the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07ckgt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The atmosphere of this small B&B was absolutely lovely and the staff super friendly to make this stay a success. The Deli and breakfast area is fantastically designed and very cosy, the food excellent, and it is perfect for snacks and wine in the late afternoon. We also enjoyed the breakfast, although due to space constraints, a fully cooked breakfast is not available. And you boil your eggs yourself.

However, we found that this 'Pig' lacked space on rainy days. The common breakfast area was often filled with people and our comfort room was so small, that we could hardly wander around the bed. The 1.40m bed was comfortable, but too small for 3 days and 2 tall people. We were shown another big ground floor room in the same price category, but it smelled damp with air freshener sprayed over the room and felt dark. So we preferred the small room which had a big bathroom and a great power shower.

The highlight was our dinner in the Pig in the Forrest. It is a good 30min away, but it was wonderful that we were chauffeured for free in a Landrover, so that we could both drink. We loved the food, gardens and the country house hotel. Again, such a comfortable and cosy interior!

Overall, we were happy with our stay, but the room was not adequate. I would book the most expensive category to have a decent sized room. I gave this place a good rating, because we loved the atmosphere and the staff served us very well, but our room was poor to average.

Room Tip: Take the most expensive rooms for more space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just stayed for a couple of nights while visiting the boat show. Fabulous location.....right next to the show and close to west quay shopping centre. Room was clean .....bathroom great ...huge walk in shower. Bedroom on the small side and little things missing, like a full length mirror. Bed was super comfy and they have obviously invested in sound proofing as got great nights sleep. Had one of those silly espresso machines......just give us quality filter coffee next time please. We were a little disappointed with the deli downstairs, we were hoping for charcuterie boards and wines, tapas type fayre but they had very limited options ( BBQ or sandwich and sausage rolls.....home made though) we paid £190 a night, breakfast not included and I can't help but feel its a bit too much. We hAve stayed in many boutique hotels for similar prices who provided more extras and had better facilities. So the final verdict, great location but you are paying top top dollar for it !


Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a one night stay at the Pig in the Wall in March. The visit was perfect – a cosy room, beautiful shower and a lovely log fire. The room we stayed in at the back of the building was quite drafty – make sure you bring socks! There were lots of great touches to the room including the fluffy dressing gowns, coffee machine and vintage books on chicken and pig rearing. The free transfer to the Pig in Brockenhurst for supper was great – Paul our driver was a laugh, full of stories and facts about the area. Supper itself was incredible. We had a 9.30 reservation but arrived at the Pig at around 8.15 so had plenty of time to have a drink in the Library surrounding by logs fires on a cold evening. The food was incredible (even for the vegetarian in our party!) and the huge wine lists was well explained by the waiter.

The only negative to the evening was on returning to Southampton. A group of us were sat by the fire having a drink and felt ‘rush’ by the night porter. Overall however I would be back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ff3g08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We book The Pig in the Wall for a night away over a weekend. It's one of the few luxury hotels/B&Bs that will accept one night bookings. We were a little surprised to find that they had availability - our night off was during the Southampton Boat Show.

Upon arrival we were greeted with by very friendly staff who took us to our room. We went for the 'spacious' which was exactly that, especially for an old building. The room had lots of original features but was nicely done with a fantastic bed. The only 'problem' with the room was the carpet (sisal) - it was a little rough for our liking.

Breakfast was fantastic - a lovely buffet. Whilst not a 'full english', it was of a very high quality. The granola is highly recommended

Overall a very nice hotel/B&B with fantastic staff

Room Tip: Room 4 is a 'spacious room' away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 26 in Southampton
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 26 in Southampton
1,271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#8 of 26 in Southampton
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 26 in Southampton
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig in the Wall

Address: 8 Western Esplanade, Southampton SO14 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: $186 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pig in the Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel featuring 12 shabby chic bedrooms set within Southampton’s historic medieval walls. The hotel also has a delicious deli counter serving breakfast, lunch and supper. The hotel's convenient location near to the cruise terminal and the city centre makes it the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Pig in the Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing