We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig in the Wall
Ranked #2 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A friend and I enjoyed a light lunch at The Pig in the Wall and were not disappointed. This charming boutique hotel serves light lunches and afternoon tea. It has a real country feel, whilst being in the heart of the city.
Excellent choice of wines and homemade sausage rolls, quiches, cakes and pastries. Not a huge menu as it has a tiny kitchen, but if you want something light it is well worth a visit.
A great find and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for The Pig in the Wall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 392 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm not going to repeat the positives; this place is a real gem with lovely attention to detail and if the motorways are kind to you it's very reachable indeed from London for a quick break. All the staff were great, especially Paul who "shuttled" us to and from the New Forest sister hotel for a brilliant dinner which was very reasonably priced for what it was. I would recommend a stop over in Twyford/Winchester on the way back to London with The Bugle Inn a great place to have lunch.

My only piece of constructive criticism would be that whereas the "Comfy" rooms are advertised as having "their own 'larder' stocked with snacks, drinks and an espresso machine", the snacks are chargeable. This should be made clearer. We were also surprised that breakfast is a chargeable extra as I bet you could count on one hand the number of people who have left without having it!

Thanks to the Pig In The Wall for a brilliant night away :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samrossuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Back in November 2012 I spent 2 nights with my 2 daughters at this exceptionally stylish, homely Bed and Breakfast, in fact it is a crime to call it B&B, it is better then some of the 5 star hotels I have visited over the years.
From start to finish the service was impeccable, Rachel in reservations, exceptionally professional, friendly and accommodating, immediately followed up with an email and send on all information I requested.
We managed to get lost on our way to the Hotel; the staff stayed on the phone and patiently directed the Taxi Driver (who’s listening skills left a lot to be desired).

From the moment we walked through the front door, we were welcomed by the smell and the warmth of real fire, we loved it.

We were attended to immediately and offered help with suitcases and made feel very welcomed.
Our room was a good size with a very large bed made up with high quality Egyptian cotton, pure luxury.
Immaculately clean with quirky but stylish fixtures and fittings with no expense spared, every last detail has been considered from nespresso coffee maker to night gowns!!.

At Breakfast welcomed by Friendly Polish waitress and yet again nothing was too much!!! even my extra pot of hot water!!

We took advantage of a free driver service and had a gourmet dinner at The Pig only 20 minutes away and well worth a visit, again exceptional service, great food and great atmosphere, considering this was a Wednesday night the restaurant was buzzing.

I need to mention that I run a luxury short term rentals in Cotswolds, so I am not an easy customer to please.
I travel with Fourseason Group extensively; I have to say that this is just as good just not as pretentious.

Book with a complete peace of mind, planning my return journey already!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Many of our friends have stayed at the Pig in the New Forest and raved about it. So when we read about this new chapter opening up in Southampton we decided to try it. Set in the old city wall near the ferry terminal the building has been beautifully appointed with carefully chosen furnishings. The overall effect is 'posh rustic' in my opinion. The staff felt like close friends within minutes of arrival and were attentive. We stayed in room nine and found it to be full of inspiring little touches that we fully intend to copy in any further redecoration at home. As with all boutique style accommodation it was a tad more expensive but we felt worth the price (especially as the chain hotels near by would have been only marginally cheaper but much less charming and aesthetically pleasing). If you stay here do make time for the breakfast as this was another delightful aspect of this place; you can boil your own eggs while toasting the fresh bread, watching your coffee being prepared and snacking on homemade granola in the meantime. Could have spent all morning enjoying that breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHudson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have just returned from a one night visit to the Pig in the Wall. To start with we received a genuinely warm welcome from the staff. Throughout our visit they were completely charming.Our room number 7 was stunning and spotless in addition to being very quiet. We enjoyed a lovely evening sat by a roaring fire drinking an excellent Bergerac and eating Piggy nibbles. Breakfast delicious,not rushed and great atmosphere.
To conclude The Pig in the Wall is perfect!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneLR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

A stay to delight the senses. The theme is 'shabby chic' but every piece of furniture, every old floorboard and tile, every carefully placed decoration is pure class. All are carefully chosen, in lovely condition and beautifully clean, Our first floor room was very spacious - just as well because aside from the huge bed we had a roll top bath in it too, an unusual touch. Downstairs the limited space means that reception, bar and kitchen snuggle up to one another - it feels very homely. The smells from the kitchen were mouth watering and the wine list thoughtful.
Every member of staff we spoke to was engaging and keen to make our stay perfect. There might be just a couple of niggles they could sort out (vanishing wifi signal and a temperamental coffee maker in our room) but nothing marred our overnight stay and I'd like to have given a '6' for some of the categories.
So, the breakfast is 'extra'? Don't miss it, it's a gem! A huge variety of goodies from fruit compotes and local yogurt to pastries and homemade cakes, decent cheeses and cured meats, homemade bread, honeycomb and jams and freshly squeezed juice to go with the coffee. As we ate and relaxed with the morning papers, we could only wonder why anyone would want to stay in the Grand hotel opposite. For sure, they'd have a view of the Pig in the Wall, but we were experiencing it - with all five senses!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddyfact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Just one night here left me feeling totally relaxed! Everything from the friendly staff and the wonderful bed to the delicious breakfast and chilled atmosphere is spot on. Love it....feel like I've been away for ages!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig in the Wall

Address: 8 Western Esplanade, Southampton SO14 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: $172 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pig in the Wall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish hotel featuring 12 shabby chic bedrooms set within Southampton’s historic medieval walls. The hotel also has a delicious deli counter serving breakfast, lunch and supper. The hotel's convenient location near to the cruise terminal and the city centre makes it the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pig in the Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing