We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ageas Bowl

The Ageas Bowl
Ranked #57 of 127 things to do in Southampton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of Hampshire Cricket, host to England Internationals and arena-scale concerts from the likes of Oasis, REM, and The Who. A new era has begun with a £48 million development including the opening of two new stands; which boast contemporary architecture and luxurious new conference and event facilities, making it one of the most exciting venues on the South Coast. With the imminent construction of a 4-star hotel to the Northern End of the venue, it will be the only Model Test match ground in the country as defined by the ECB. The Ageas Bowl is available to host business meetings and conferences all year round. Located on the outskirts of Southampton it benefits from exceptional links to the motorway networks and public transportation. So whatever your business or leisure requirements, we invite you to consider the fantastic opportunities at The Ageas Bowl, a relaxed atmosphere combined with spectacular architecture, professional service and a beautiful setting.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just been to a 40-40 game as a guest an I was more tan a little surprised at just how excellent everything was. The service was impeccable and the food was extremely good and inventive. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience, would recommend it whole heartedly and can't wait to go back. Oh, and we won too :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarrantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Business Development Manager at The Ageas Bowl, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for the great feedback, we are glad the food and service exceeded your expectation, and hope to see you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    22
    29
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ageas bowl hampshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bit biased on this revue as I am a member of Hampshire cricket club.The venue gives a perfect view of the cricket wherever you are sitting.There is a variety of fast food outlets and bars on match days.This year the ground is hosting One Day International matchs.There is also a Golf Course within the Complex.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Business Development Manager at The Ageas Bowl, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Many thanks for your great feedback, nothing wrong with our HCC Members highlighting how great the facilities are here at The Bowl!

For those of you who are interested in keeping up to date with the ODI and remaining season's fixtures please check our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A perfect days cricket in an amazing venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was only recently reminded that I didn't write a review about Hampshire cricket clubs Ageas Bowl, as well as all the county cricket games they also now hold occasional test matches and one day games.

Last year my son and I went to four matches, the best being a one day international in August, the day was amazing.

It's so much better getting to the venue now with far less road hold ups from previous days, this has probably been helped by the new hotel which is built on the grounds.

The venue itself is a wonderful cricket surface, enough of a size so that you can see every ball from every area. The facilities are excellent, the food is ok but you can always bring in your own picnic if you wish, the staff were all very friendly.

We have booked again for the one day game against Australia this year and also the international 20/20 match.

If you haven't been yet I can highly recommend that you go as its a great family sporting day out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jonip1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Business Development Manager at The Ageas Bowl, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic and informative feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Bowl in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The food is okay,quite small portions and overpriced for what you get.The service was acceptable but would not eat there again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathleen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Business Development Manager at The Ageas Bowl, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Kathleen

Thank you for your review.

At Ageas Bowl we strive to provide a high level of service and value for money.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be bought to the attention of the Management Team.

We hope to welcome you back to Ageas Bowl in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good christmas works do.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had a good christmas works do. The food was pretty good, bar service was quite slow and prices were not too bad. Glad they've get rid of the anexe which is freezing. The 1/2 bottle of wine each is ok, nothing to write home about. The fair ground rides were fun after a few jars and the Candy floss good to bring home to the kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dillster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon F, Business Development Manager at The Ageas Bowl, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your Christmas party last year. We are glad you enjoyed the experience.

Please be sure to check out our offering for this year's "Once Upon a Christmas" inspired party packages, prices start from £35.00 per person:

www.ageasbowl.com/pages/christmas-celebrations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ageas Bowl also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Ageas Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing