We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”
Review of The Farmers Home

The Farmers Home
Ranked #107 of 852 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 01489860457
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great food, special board was first class, good size portions and very good value. Good food, nice wood burner in bar to keep warm, good beer, had HSB, excellent. booked on sat night, so good went back sunday

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    81
    37
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
334 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great Pub ! Great Food !”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We chose this pub as it had good reviews on Trip Advisor ! We are so glad we did as it was first class ! Took us about 20 mins drive from Southampton Uni as it was rush hour, set in a lovely village, great big car park and looked like a nice play area with plenty of outside seating !

The menu is fairly small for choice BUT there was plenty of 'Specials' on the board. What i liked was that the children's menu didn't just have the normal chicken goujons etc, there was Lasagne and also a Steak as well as the usual chicken, fish, burger etc, The food was all home cooked (no microwave food here) and delicious, the service was excellent and the price was reasonable !

We will definately be returning !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Eaten here several times and never been disappointed. When I say not just a restaurant, it is because I used it for a wake following my father's funeral. My mother wanted to give my father a good send off and she certainly wasn't disappointed. Around 50 people were catered for and around that number attended. The weather was not brilliant but there is plenty of room, with a large covered area outside for the smokers. Staff kept an eye on the food, topping up as and when necessary. The owner/chef deviated from original set menu for a variety of cakes, scones etc which went down very well. He even catered for vegetarians. It is not everyday you get a thank you letter from one of the mourners saying how good the spread was. Several of the mourner's made plan's to return to use the restaurant. Also it benefits from ample parking a good signage from the local Crematorium!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timbohere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food well worth dressing up for; but you don't need to”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Farmer's Home is a delightful old village pub, with a restaurant just off the main bar. Parking is good.

The menu is fairly wide-ranging, but small enough for them to be able to cook everything really well. Main course portions are generous, but make sure you leave room for one of the delicious puddings, such as the chocolate creme brullee or the Eton mess.

Service is friendly as well as being efficient. The whole experience is like being at a good restaurant, but without the formality. We keep going back!

On our recent visits, there's only been one soup on the menu each day, but the starters are so tempting that this won't usually be a problem.

I can't speak for the wines, as I am the driver. In any case, there is a choice of excellent beers, which have been kept well and are served in first-class condition.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cicsplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice pub - Food improved under new owners”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had not visited the Farmer's Home for a couple of years as I had experienced too many 'average' meals there over the past decade. That said, we decided to give it another try and were very impressed by the overall higher standard of food that was on offer in the restaurant. Plenty of choice with a selection of daily specials to choose from. The atmosphere on a saturday night was great (the place was full) and the service was friendly and helpful.

The selection of drinks available was vast, service was quick, and the prices reasonable for a restaurant / pub of this type. This is a traditional country pub without annoying loud music or televisions.

Highly recommended for couples, families or groups of friends who want to enjoy a night out with good food - I will happily make this a regular haunt to revisit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank buzzthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers Home also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Botley, Southampton
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Farmers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing