We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, great service, fantastic little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kohinoor of Kerala

Kohinoor of Kerala
Ranked #6 of 846 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, great service, fantastic little gem”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Finding the restaurant through trip advisor, I was convinced by the great reviews the restaurant had received. Everything commented was more ygm true, I was amazed by the quality of food and service was very personal and combined with the deceiving location, tour definitely left astounded. A must visit, my bill for 2 came to £30... I would've paid £60

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidomonya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,086
    130
    35
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I visited Kohinoor of Kerala at the end of September with two friends and was surprised how busy this small restaurant in Portswood was, so very pleased that I booked in advance.

On arrival we were taken to our seats and told that the food is cooked freshly and therefore there could be a slight waiting time. This was fine as I don't like being rushed during my dining experience.

The menu was extensive and had lots of different cuisine including seafood dishes which very much appealed to me. However, I eventually chose a Chicken Bhuna which was delicious. One of my friends ordered the mixed grill and she said it was very good too.

Full marks on service and food for this restaurant and top marks to the manager who at the end of the evening remembered my name when I thanked them for such a great evening !

Will definitely go back here and try some more of their menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charli_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How Lucky were we”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Like the title of the review says, my wife and I just happened to come across this restaurant the Friday before boarding our cruise the following day.The food in this restaurant cannot be praised highly enough. It is the best Indian meal I have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dergib49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Southampton”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

By far the best Indian Restaurant in Southampton. Service is great and staff are really friendly. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone, it is quite compact inside so I advise you to book in advanceto avoid disappointment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobby1970s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Superb Indian food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant regularly and the food has always been of a very high standard. The choice of menu is excellent and far more interesting than your standard Indian restaurant. The service is always friendly and helpfull. Booking is recommend, as this restaurant has deservedly becomes very popular place to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hans2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohinoor of Kerala also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kohinoor of Kerala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing