We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly Average - Beer Tastes Like Feet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express. Not the worst one of this chain I've stayed at. The building is quite new and modern. The bar areas, reception and restaurant are all fairly pleasant. The rooms are small and basic but clean.

Biggest gripe I have with these hotels are the poor quality beds, and this one was no exception. I had a double room, which had a very small, incredibly uncomfortable double bed. The mattresses just feel very cheap.

The heating/ventilation system in the room was poor. It consisted of a single electric wall mounted heater, no air-con (although that's not really a problem in January), which I find surprising for such a modern hotel.

The only other thing I found disappointing about this hotel was the quality of the draught beer. This is a bit of a theme with both standard and Express Holiday Inns. The beer (which is almost always either Stella or Becks Vier) tastes very watered down. To make matters worse, the beer at this particular hotel tasted like someone had bathed their sweaty feet in the keg.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. Please accept our apologies that the Stella or Becks premium lagers we provide were not to your liking. Unfortunately as you did not mention anything during your stay, we were unable to replace your lager or address your concern at the time. Kindly note that all our beers served directly from barrels.

We are surprised by your feedback regarding our beds as all beds were replaced in the past 6 months with Hypnos beds, which company you may be aware have royal appointment.

We thank you for your positive feedback concerning our high standards of cleanliness and the stylish interior design of our restaurant and bar.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and to fully satisfy you on your next stay

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 998 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night before a cruise. It was in an easy to find location & was very quiet. The staff were efficient & friendly. The room clean, smelled fresh & the bed was comfortable. It was lovely to be able to eat in the hotels restaurant rather than have to go out again, especially after a long journey. The menu was limited & our steaks were rather chewy (at over £11 each, pricey for the quality) but, the meal was cooked fresh & was hot. The breakfast the following morning was included in the price & there was a good choice of foods, nice to see bacon as in other Holiday Inn Express we've only had sausage, scrambled egg & beans!! Thanks for a great overnight stay!! We'll definitely come again.

Room Tip: We chose the second floor & as the hotel was quiet there was no one above us "stamping"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Culvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Thank you to all the staff that made us feel welcome. Myself and a friend decided to book in for a random evening to get away and have a laugh. I took my dog with me and the staff were very friendly. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Breakfast came included and was very nice. Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I often use this hotel on business trips and the staff are always attentive and provide excellent service. Rooms are clean and fresh. The restaurant has a good breakfast and evening meals that are reasonably priced and of good quality, but as a frequent visitor a change of the menu would not go amiss.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

While on a business trip, I stayed at Holiday Inn for about a couple of weeks. The room, I stayed in, was very well kept and cleanliness, which I am very finicky about, was something I was impressed with. Comfort was surely there in the stay.

Food was not what I enjoyed though, there was hardly any variety in the breakfast. For all the 14-15 days, I ate the same breakfast; it was a huge put off for me. To add to it, post 8 AM, the eatery would be crowded very heavily. So you need to wake up early to have a peaceful breakfast.

I was very happy with the staff, both at the reception and at the serving area (bar/kitchen).

Holistically, I found Holiday Inn good enough to be considered again for a stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ground Floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saksenarohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have recently stayed for 4 nights due to a problem at our home. We chose this hotel because it is a half a mile from our house. The first 2 nights we booked in, we were on the second floor (room 212). I have to say it was warm, comfortable and quiet.
Due to the problem at our house not being fixed we then booked in for a further 2 nights. This time we were given a ground floor room (33) this was facing then road so was quit noisy. Although the room itself was as good as the other comfort wise.
There was coffee making facilities in the room along with a hair dryer and free wifi. The complimentary breakfast was good. You could chose from fried sausages bacon etc to fruit and yogurt, eating as much as you like.
The front desk was well manned and very polite and helpful.
Would i recommend it, absolutely yes.
Location wise is near the M27, but right next door to the Ageas Bowl (formally the Rose Bowl) cricket ground. They hold many events there including concerts so I would imagine will book fast during events.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face inwards to the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for one night on New Year's Eve. This was a last minute trip and found the hotel due to its great value for money. We are a family of 5 with 2 small children and I was amazed at how fabulous the staff were. They couldn't have been more polite or helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable with plenty of room for all of us. Breakfast was lovely and we ate in our room as the children were still in bed. I can not fault this hotel, but it was the staff that made our stay. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel021079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,069 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
4.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,254 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
0.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7

Address: Express Southampton M27 Jct Holiday Inn 7 Botley Road | West End, Southampton SO31 1AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express(R) Southampton M27, Jct.7 hotel offers 176 modern guest rooms set in landscaped grounds. It's just a 15 minute drive to Southampton Cruise Terminals and three miles to Southampton Airport (SOU). You're 20 minutes' drive from New Forest National Park and four miles from Southampton's city centre. The hotel offers free WiFi, free on-site parking and an inclusive breakfast with both hot and continental items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton m27 Jct 7 Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing