We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bitterne Balti

Bitterne Balti
Ranked #106 of 846 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Small restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is small but offers excellent food, great friendly atmosphere and easy to get along with staff

If you have never been before then do give it a try, they won't fail you

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zenajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    26
    8
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good example of a curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Went for my wife's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our rare night out away from the children.
Flavorsome and gently spiced curries with excellent side dishes and breads. A good selection of wines also for a curry house.
We had a very good waiter which made our night and birthday candles and dessert finished it all off swimmingly.
Recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Small but lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really good meal, no skimping on the meat, with good service in a small but lovely setting. Try the chicken & lamb balthi :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wacflac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreameritaly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed. .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this after reading good reviews but wished we had gone somewhere else. We definitely didn't need to book as we were the only ones there! The waiter couldn't be bothered to raise a smile and the waitress couldn't stop yawning. The food was fine but not very hot. By 9.00 he was pacing up and down and obviously wanted us to leave so he could go home! We did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dreameritaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitterne B, Manager at Bitterne Balti, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you found your recent visit to the Bitterne Balti to be disappointing. We normally receive very good feedback from our customers so we were surprised to see your rating of a 'poor' 2 stars.

The majority of restaurant have quieter than normal days and it was a bit unfortunate that your visit happened to be on one of those days for the Bitterne Balti. You mentioned that our waiter was not smiling enough (couldn't be bothered) and that waitress was yawning a lot. Firstly, we always receive great feedback about our friendly and polite service so we are sorry that you believe you did not receive that level of friendliness. Please be assured that our waiter was not trying to get you to leave so he could close the restaurant at 9.00pm. our closing times are 5-11 and 5-12 on weekends so this was certainly not the case. The staff at Bitterne Balti have worked long and hard to give our customers the best service possible and good Quality food for a decent price and this is why we have had our good name for the last 15years. I am sure you will agree that feeling tired and yawning is something that we are all guilty of at some point.

We were sorry to hear that you felt the food was "not very hot" This is very unusual as like you said, you were the only customers dining at the time so the food came directly from the cooker to your table without delay. It was also served on the usual food heater so it should not have been an issue. If you meant that the food was not hot in spicy way then obviously the heat level varies dish and is illustrated clearly on our menu. We always make sure we ask how the food is after 3-5 min after serving the food and we had no Compliant from yourself.
It is a shame that you feel your experience at the Bitterne Balti was disappointing and we are sorry that you felt the need to give us a poor review.we have taken your comments on board of course,but feel that the low 2 stars you gave was not totally justified. We do hope that in the future we have another opportunity to show you why we are ranked so highly among 360+Southampton restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

After seeing it as the number 1 restaurant in Southampton I had high expectations. But to be honest the food and service were just OK.What made it worse was that when I did visit it was a very cold day and they hadn't put the heating on so I had to remain in my coat

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beckie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bitterne Balti also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Bitterne Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing