We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“im not coming back”
Review of Bitterne Balti

Bitterne Balti
Ranked #118 of 859 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“im not coming back”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went to this restaurant last month with my friends. The service i would say ok, but not excellent.
i had ordered chicken korma was bland and watery, but my friends dishes they said it was ok.
as soon as we arrived home and especially the next day, three had experienced badly upset stomach.It appears that something was very wrong here.
so never again
very bad experience

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmillerzy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitterne B, Manager at Bitterne Balti, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear johnmillerzy35

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to our restaurant .I am trying to remember you but as no one has complained to us at all about our food, Iam struggling to place you and your friends.
I am surprised and disappointed that that you found your chicken korma to be 'bland and watery' as the comments we usually receive about the korma are very complimentary to the thick and flavour-some sauce.In fact,there is no water used at all in the preparation-just cream.
It is unfourtunate that you experienced stomach upsets but we have not received any complaints about the food or any phone calls from anyone and we certainly never had any customers reporting poorly stomachs.In fact, our hygiene levels are considered well above average for the restaurant industry and we make every effort to ensure the high standards are adhered to at all times by all members of staff.
Our hygiene certificates are clearly visible in the main restaurant and we are inspected regularly by the health authorities.
I once again apologise that your experience was not as you expected but think you have got the wrong restaurant here.As you can see from our other reviews here on Tripadvisor,it is definitely out of the ordinary. In fact, all our other reviews have been 5 stars.

yours sincerely

Bitterne Balti Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    26
    8
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The true embodiment of Indian cuisine.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Perfect everytime whether you decide to eat inside the restaurant or order a takeaway, delivery times, service and the food are exceptional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KyleDuddridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant since it first opened, and now we bring our children who think The Bitterne Balti do the Best Chicken Tikka Masala not only in Southampton but the world.
My favorite is the Chicken Rejala with fresh green chillies. My husband likes to challenge the chef into making something off the menu, like,garlic, chilli chicken sag. Tastes great.
So many girls nights out here, even my hen night, and always but always, fantastic food, and friendly service.
So if you are looking for the mother of all curries, then look no further than this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Simply unbeatable”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent staff always polite and willing to help
Food is outstanding!!!! love eating in and the service for home deliveries surpasses any others
If you have never been to Bitterne Balti then this must be next on your to do list
I promise they won't let you down

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zenajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic curry restaurant.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The best curry house in Southampton. Very friendly and fantastic food. Always attentive and great relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jl1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bitterne Balti also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Bitterne Balti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing