We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mayflower Theater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayflower Theatre

Mayflower Theatre
Ranked #2 of 127 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mayflower Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been to the theatre on several occasions and have found it a great venue the last time being to see Jack Dee, the sound is great and the seating is comfortable. I would pre-order your drinks before hand, but all the same the staff are very quick.
I am hoping to go later this year and see another show with my kids. It is just finding something they both want to see.
There is good parking nearby to the venue some are card payments and these are a bit slow when people are not sure what they are doing but at night they are cheap enough. I think over the years the venue has got better (it hasn't change but just feels better or maybe I am just getting older)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    935
    483
    89
    55
    52
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mayflower Theartre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been here several times to see shows. It is a very intimate place and beautiful decorated. Great for children's show too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank digger8161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old fashioned theatre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Mayflower does put on some excellent shows, however, the general appearance of the theatre is rather shabby. The seats are moderately comfortable but the rows are a bit too close for comfort. The bar is downstairs and like everything else is on the shabby side.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Mayflower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great old theatre with loads of character, there's always top shows on all year round. Easy access to the train station and to southampton city centre. Great place enjoy. Oh by the way watch out for the ghosts .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

All the London west end shows come here, and they are GREAT. There is some thing for every one, no matter what your taste is. We go mainly to Musicals as is our taste but we have also seen several plays and at least 5 groups and 6 singers. As well as 4 comedians, All were BRILLIANT. The venue is large and all seats have a great view.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Theatre also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mayflower Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing