We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chilly Madam Butterfly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayflower Theatre

Mayflower Theatre
Ranked #2 of 127 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A chilly Madam Butterfly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Went to see WNO production of Madam Butterfly with my fiancée. The production was very good and acoustics very good in the stalls. Seats reasonably priced and comfy enough. However, to have to sit through the performance with our coats on in mid March is not good enough! This is not the first time we have had to sit through a performance in a chilly theatre. Come on Mayflower sort the heating out! In the meantime folks wrap up warm!

Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    483
    89
    55
    52
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Been here many of times, going back to see rocky horror in may as last time it was amazing. Each time I have been its been a great night so much fun. Definatly value for money. Highly recommented

Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“sleeping beauty ice spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family and I went to see sleeping beauty on ice we were sat in row B right at the front,and it was a very beautiful performance, the skating was fantastic and the costumes were beautiful,I am not sure it was for younger children,as our three got bored very easily.
my husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly.
the acrobatics and jumps and the flying was fasntastic to see,every movement was perfect,
definatley a show for adults,our seats were at the very front which was brilliant as we could see everything up close and when the skaters stopped sharply you could see the ice come up out at you.
the seats were very comfortable as well as roomy,
we have seen many productions over the years and it never ceases to amaze us,at the standard of the productions shown.
roll on the next show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandyb11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big Theatre Big Performances”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

There are several good live theatres within striking distance of Southampton, from Chicester to Salisbury and closer The Point at Eastleigh and The Nuffield Southampton.
For the Mayflower, we sometimes begin the evening with a meal at the Ovation Restaurant in the Theatre building.
Book a table enjoy a quality meal, good service and your table is still yours at the interval with your coffee and desert, or drinks are waiting. Away from the turmoil and chatter of the circle and stalls bars at half time!
The theatre offers good productions often straight from the West End and the Restaurant is a bonus though other good restaurants serving the Mayflower crowds abound locally.
Parking by the Theatre is possible but the popular choice is the free multi-storey behind the theatre. Good performances demand high prices. We recently paid about £40 each for front circle seats at The English National Ballet's Sleeping Beauty. Add £50 for a meal for two and you have a good night out for less than £200. That's cheaper than cruising and you don't wake up in a foreign country. Whoopee!
Try it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I go to the Mayflower several times a year for all manner of shows from opera, ballet ice shows, plays, musicals etc., sometimes with big names performing The seats are priced as fairly as possible, the staff are always friendly and the seats generally comfortable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lipizzaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayflower Theatre also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Mayflower Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing