We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing burgers!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rockstone

The Rockstone
Ranked #19 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Grill, American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Craft beer, real ale and cider. 200+ spirits. Best Gourmet burgers in Southampton, Street food. Vegan and gluten free wizardry. 2 beer gardens. Monthly events & tap takeovers. 2 for £22 Burger Night every Monday and Tuesday 17.00 to 21.30. Student Wednesdays every Wednesday. Rock the Stone drink deals and alternative / rock / metal music Friday and Saturday 21.00 till late. Food is served between 12.00-21.30 Mon-Sat, 12.00-21.00 Sun. Booking is advised, especially at weekends and match days. Well behaved dogs are welcome at The Rockstone provided they are kept on a lead and off the furniture. Children and under-18s welcome 12.00-20.00 and later provided they are with an adult. Please contact us if you have any special dietary requirements or other queries as we are happy to accommodate your requests.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing burgers which are certainly the biggest I've ever seen - and eaten! Really friendly staff - plus cute dogs! Definitely will return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taniabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    211
    61
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best burger I have ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Without a doubt the best burger I have ever ever had. I went for the blue cheese one and immediately regretted it as I have never seen a burger that big in my life! However the taste was magical.

12 quid for a burger might seem high but it is without a doubt worth it.

Deserves to be featured on the Food Network's Diners, Drive ins and Dives.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly Local, Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Been to this establishment a few times now and boy what a treat. The food is beautiful, never left hungry and the drink is well stocked behind the bar. Always busy would recomend booking but definately 1 if not the best restaurant in Southampton

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Genuinely great food at an understated gem of a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is something so satisfying about finding a place that you just want to tell everyone about. It doesn't happen often, but just occasionally you stumble upon somewhere or take a chance with a friends recommendation and you hit a winner - The Rockstone is precisely this to me!

Having been now 3 times, originally on a friends recommendation, I can safely say its one of my favourite places to eat if I fancy a meaty, proper pub grub style dinner.

As everyone has said on here, the meat is the name of the game in this place (although veggie options are very good) and my word do they do it well! Yes, its slightly pricier than other places in the category but you get what you pay for, and more. I would rather pay the bit extra than save £5 on a meal and it not be half as nice!

Burgers are monstrous and fresh, made on demand. Steaks are superb, of various sizes and styles (inc the 40oz which is not easy to cook perfectly), other dishes are just as good and its all wrapped up with top friendly service in a quirky, nice little pub atmosphere.

As others have said, DO NOT be fooled by the look of this place from the outside/location.

If you like your meats and like generous portions of it, with an amazing selection of drinks to boot, look no further if you are in the area - I promise you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrCueball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have visited the rockstone many times and every time the staff have been very friendly and the atmosphere is always relaxed and friendly.
When I have visited for food, the food has always been cooked as requested with prompt service and good check back with any complaints dealt with in a very professional manner (only time I have had to complain was a slight over cook on my steak and I'm very fussy with my steak)
Max and Amy have done a fantastic job creating a wonderful country pub with great food in the city.
This is not a place to go to for a cheap meal, It is a place to go for a high quality, fantastic meal at fair prices.
I would highly recommend the rockstone to friends and family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockstone also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Rockstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing