We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere! Great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rockstone

The Rockstone
Ranked #18 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Grill, American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Craft beer, real ale and cider. 200+ spirits. Best Gourmet burgers in Southampton, Street food. Vegan and gluten free wizardry. 2 beer gardens. Monthly events & tap takeovers. 2 for £22 Burger Night every Monday and Tuesday 17.00 to 21.30. Student Wednesdays every Wednesday. Rock the Stone drink deals and alternative / rock / metal music Friday and Saturday 21.00 till late. Food is served between 12.00-21.30 Mon-Sat, 12.00-21.00 Sun. Booking is advised, especially at weekends and match days. Well behaved dogs are welcome at The Rockstone provided they are kept on a lead and off the furniture. Children and under-18s welcome 12.00-20.00 and later provided they are with an adult. Please contact us if you have any special dietary requirements or other queries as we are happy to accommodate your requests.
1 review
“Great atmosphere! Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have dined in the Rockstone a few times but my food last night exceeded all expectations. Beautifully cooked steak and great smiles from over the bar made our groups dining experience incredible- staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great time and were all happy!!

It's amazing to see a little pub deliver great pub grub and deal well with the large amount of people during the Christmas period!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ash-Jo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    211
    61
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Burgers like no other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came down to Southampton and took my son here for his 19th Birthday as he likes steaks and burgers and we were not disappointed. The service was excellent, really making you feel welcome . My sons burger was immense (about 6" tall) with bacon, cheese, chicken and minced steak in. My rib eye steak had a fantastic chilli and black pepper coating and my wife's pastry tart was freshly made from scratch (no Jus Rol here). Good real ale as well. Tips: - book a table it gets busy. For parking, coming from the north, take the first right after the pub and you can park for free for 2 hours, (otherwise you are in a land of resident permit holders only).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffSheriff, Owner at The Rockstone, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

We're so glad you had a good birthday for your son, hopefully he will continue to come back, and not be scared to drink real beer in Bevois Valley!

Next time, I'm sure I can make a burger even bigger....sounds like a challenge.

Take care, and many thanks for the kind review.

Max

X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favourite place to go out in Southampton-full stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I've visited The Rockstone a fair few times now, and have had fantastic food on every single occasion,
The staff are great-both chatty and attentive, even when busy (me and the girlfriend were in on Saturday night-still friendly even with the crowd which is a rare thing nowadays) The nice thing about the place is the ambience too, with the cross section of professions and age groups, there's still a friendly vibe which is cool.
There's a great selection of beers and cider, though what stands out is the selection of whiskies and rums, enough to keep you entertained for a weekend anyhow!
The food, as mentioned at the top, is fab. With The Rockstone being an independent pub,you can tell that the chefs care about what comes out of the kitchen, and it delivers, with generous portions and great flavours.
(FYI-there's a great blue cheese/cider and walnut sauce that I can highly recommend)
All in all, a great pub and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pub food in Southampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Have been here a few times now. The food has been great every time. Burgers are fantastic, but be warned ... The volcano lives up to its name!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such Promise, but.........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having read the reviews we thought we would give it a try, and headed in for a drink and a burger, ordered and sat back to wait for the food, we opted for the Rockstone Burger thinking as it is named after the pub it must be good. Wrong!! Cold in the centre, and a hard bun and topped with rubbery bacon and cheap cheese. We ate it as it was a bit of a wait for it in the first place and time was against us, but left the chips as they were very cold.

Drink was ok, but it is hard to get a pint of lager wrong really. After the meal we went to smoke in a dark courtyard type area, not sure if we were meant to be there as the chefs were outside smoking and swearing, finished up and left, will not be returning in a hurry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffSheriff, Owner at The Rockstone, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
a) The food was PERFECT last night, it was all personally checked by the head chef, and myself.

b) The DARK(?) courtyard is lit up like a bloody Christmas Tree and had a ROARING fire. We have 8 cathedral candle lanterns, and 2 flame lanterns, plus t-lights, and a log fire. NOT DARK.

c) No plates of chips came back uneaten. The only uneaten food that came back was chicken wings on table 12, and that was because the couple that ordered them, ordered them as a side dish to an 18oz T-bone and a 10oz rump steak with cheese, bacon, onion rings, salad, coleslaw and fries, and couldn't finish them.

d) The chefs certainly won't smoking and swearing last night, they were collecting glasses and plates, and helping on the bar.

e) Chargrilled bacon does not go "rubbery." Also the menu specifies that the ROCKSTONE CLASSIC comes with "American Singles Burger Cheese." Hence the "Cheap Cheese."

f) They said they came in but they only mentioned one meal. No one ever does that. They always say, "and my partner had....etc..."

g) Very odd for someone to not mention the huge array of drinks, then order "lager."

h) Aimee the landlady personally oversaw all of the tables, and heard no complaints, only high praise.

i) We have checked back the CCTV, (we have 12 cameras) to look for food being left, and not seen any evidence of such.

Regards,

Max

X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockstone also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Rockstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing