We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection”
Review of The Rockstone

The Rockstone
Ranked #21 of 860 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Craft beer, real ale and cider. 200+ spirits. Best Gourmet burgers in Southampton, Street food. Vegan and gluten free wizardry. 2 beer gardens. Monthly events & tap takeovers. 2 for £22 Burger Night every Monday and Tuesday 17.00 to 21.30. Student Wednesdays every Wednesday. Rock the Stone drink deals and alternative / rock / metal music Friday and Saturday 21.00 till late. Food is served between 12.00-21.30 Mon-Sat, 12.00-21.00 Sun. Booking is advised, especially at weekends and match days. Well behaved dogs are welcome at The Rockstone provided they are kept on a lead and off the furniture. Children and under-18s welcome 12.00-20.00 and later provided they are with an adult. Please contact us if you have any special dietary requirements or other queries as we are happy to accommodate your requests.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I brought a large party to The Rockstone on the evening of November 3rd and everything was absolutely brilliant. Everyone was made to feel so welcome. The folks there are so relaxed whilst at the same time being extremely professional and knowledgeable about their products. And what products! 8 draft ales, real cider, bottled ales and lagers and a back bar absolutely filled with gins and whiskys and rums to satisfy any palette.
The food is fantastic. Everything is prepared on-site and the selection is absolutely brilliant. From burgers (approx. 15 different ones) to steak to fish to vegetarian. There's also a specials board for anyone who feels like a 2lb steak.
I've been here before, but I knew I was testing things a bit with the size of the group a brought along. The Rockstone coped, and coped in style. I'll be back and so will everyone else. Top marks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    224
    67
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Rockstone is a real fun place to visit. The food and general hospitality is excellent. A very comfortable and well thought out design, it should suit most.

I could maybe see why this place doesn’t suit everyone, but for a casual evening and to try something different, this place will deliver every time with the great standards it has. Probably one of the best Southampton has to offer.

Ensure you try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly scrumptious . . .”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'd heard lots about the Rockstone and that the food was great, and I wasn't disappointed. Proper home made burgers with fabulous flavours, none of that 'out of a pack' nonsense. I also indulged in the scallops for a starter and they were divine. It's a great atmosphere, not pretentious, friendly, relaxed and comfortable. I will be going back regularly :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fab food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went yesterday with husband son & daugther in law. My son had been before but first time for the rest of us and I can say with certainty it wont be the last.They were very busy but found us a table. The staff were lovely and the atmosphere and food fantastic. Three had the burgers and I had the pork loin which was tender and moist. All the meals cooked beautifully and good size portions. We often eat out on a Sunday and as we live near the New Forest most times eat at local pubs and have often been disappointed at over cooked over priced food. Yesterday was a throughly enjoyable surprise. The menu at this pub is very varied and lots to choose from. I will be coming again shortly to sample their steak.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angisouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly country pub in the city”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been frequenting this pub since it first opened and have to give 5* rating for food, drink, atmosphere and overall experience. You can come from any background and feel welcome, the food is beyond usual pub standards, the bar staff go out og the way to help you and Frankie - the pub dog - is a constant source of 'squeee' and entertainment,

It is hard to believe this has only been open under a year

Definitely recommend the burgers, tex-mex Tuesday and special events weekends.

Thank you for not having TVs, games boxes and pool tables!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank em_inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rockstone also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Rockstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing