We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Southampton

“Great pub”
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Ranked #342 of 987 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $5 - $18
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came o n a family visit with young children and a vegan in law. All needs were catered for and the staff looked after us incredibly well. Wait times were short and good was outstanding, especially for such good pricing

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leile94_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Leile94_, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Village Inn! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All seats are dirty & stained, mens toilet walls are vandalised and in desperate need of repair & has been like that for the past 6 months. The ladies toilets aren't much better. Constant litter of Cigarette ends at the entrance which should be cleaned up daily.The whole pub is in desperate need of a refurbishment.
Its gone downhill very fast.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank nibbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Nibbet, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We eat her often at lunch or early evening and we find the staff very friendly and helpful, the food is good and the beer choice is also good. Unfortunately the tables were not being cleared. We sat at a table which had glasses and some dirty cutlery on it so we pushed it to one side, we then ordered our food and this came at a reasonable time. A member of staff brought our order looked at the debris on our table and walked away, we were part way through our meal and another member of staff came across and removed the glasses but left the dirty cutlery. There were odd things going on concerning the tables around us where certain items were taken away but others left for long periods of time. We were finding it quite amusing to watch, but not for customers coming in to sit at tables with debris on them. Awareness is obviously something which is not part of your training. Having said that I will not stop eating here but it is just unfortunate as the staff are very nice.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steveg1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this place! Great atmosphere, amazing service and we always enjoy our visits each and every time

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 85mariast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello 85mariast, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place has the potential to be very good, but the service is very slow. We waited a disproportionate amount of time for our desert, which had to be chased up twice. Getting served at the bar can be difficult. The pub needs an appropriate amount of staff to cope with customer flow. It's a very popular location, so can be busy with limited options for seating. We like sitting outside, but that is popular with smokers, and we couldn't find anywhere to sit where we were not breathing in someone's cigarette smoke. Shame, as the garden is one of the pub's best assets. Inside it feels a little corporate. There's little sense of cosy country pub.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Steve P, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but we would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing