We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“James”
Review of Nick's Restaurant

Nick's Restaurant
Ranked #118 of 852 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: European, British, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh wholesome tasty food. A wide selection to choose from ranging from liver and onions to pastitsio.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“James”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We love coming to Nick's, Great food, great service, great atmosphere, no complaints, it's been really good since Ray took it on, he has the Irish charm!!

Helpful?
Thank Jamesrl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great meal, Great service!! ”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I went to Nick's on a Saturday evening. For me I have very nostalgic memories of Nicks from nearly 25 years ago.

However, not been since it was reopened.

The food and service were excellent. I had cheesy garlic bread to start which was hot (temperature) and really well made on a crusty bread that crunched well. Just the right amount of garlic.

For main I had the hamburger in a sauce with egg, chips and peas. This was just how I remember it.... A good pork burger, beautifully cooked, with a nice sauce. Fresh chips and a non oily egg.

Fantastic meal. Service was pleasant and good.

My only moan would be the music.... For the first half hour it was hits of the 90's......... And very cheesy ones!

For a Saturday night it was quiet- but of course this is the city centre part of town which isn't the busy end any more. The food is good, lots of it (if you like good portion sizes this is te place for you!)

However, it's a gem of a restaurant again and I will be back. Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best In Southampton”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I just love this restaurant its my faviorite in southampton,back to its old self as i remember it,food always brought out lovely & hot & the chips are to die for,generous helpings as well,you wont be dissapointed (staff are lovely two).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinsainsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice little taverna!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have visited nicks many times over the years . The restaurant has been refurbished to a very nice standard . Feels like a typical Greek taverna. I used to eat there with my parents many years ago as my father was at sea with one of the family. The food has always been ,and still is , very good home cooked.The lasagne' is very tasty . I would always have the liver onions and bacon when I visited there, but now I love the Greek pancake.! The food is always fresh and nicely presented . The salad accompaniment is lovely .
If you choose to eat at this restaurant make sure you are hungry as the portions are big and good value for money . The waiting staff are very efficient and friendly. The menu has plenty of choice.
Nice to see a restaurant which has lasted the test of time and is still popular .it just shows that they are giving people what they want.b

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Prices”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The wife and I have not eaten in here for over a year now but the food is very good and the prices are amazing and it is always full which proves how popular it is. Well worth a visit if you can get a table.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Restaurant also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Nick's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing