We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shop till you drop!”
Review of Westquay

Westquay
Ranked #20 of 133 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shop till you drop!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Shops...shops...shops and more shops!! Bars and Restaurants, The christmas decorations were amazing!
So much choice and good value for money! I think i needed a week there.. not a weekend! I didnt have time to see everything i wanted. Awesome!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Lady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    117
    39
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good but a bit too hectic”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

A good range of shops and eating places (£7 million has just been spent updating the food area).

However, it does get very busy and you spend more time trying the thread through the crowds than 'enjoying' the experience, which I feel is partly due to there being only one main entrance/exit (the one at the rear does not feed back into the High Street) so the majority of visitors are tunnelled into the one area to get in and out.

So, instead of it being a leisurely shopping trip it becomes a bit of a trial and therefore results in getting in and out as quickly as possible.

Helpful?
Thank 0_-_RONIN_-_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great shopping centre and getting better”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

there is a great selection of shops here over two floors with a large eating area at the top on the third floor. there are shops to suit every type of shopper from a huge john lewis to the smaller shops such as the cupcake boutique. the place is always getting bigger and better and is currently having the food court enhanced with new restaurants being added.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anza_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great shopping centre but hectic!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

this centre has all the top range shops and pretty much everything else. it's quite a shopping experience for anyone coming from South Africa or other smaller towns. I would have loved at least a day to spend there, but sadly only had an hour!!!
I have shopped the world (love it) and would put this on a par with any great international centre. In fact, we'd just shopped Dubai Mall and I preferred West Quay - better laid out and more vibey and fun.

was very impressed with the accessibility stuff, you can hire motorised wheelchairs on arrival in the car park. lots of lifts too.

hope to spend some quality time here in the future ;)

PS: would HATE to go there with my 4 year old - far too over-stimulating and busy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MargsCarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A village mall”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I am not impressed with West Quay shopping centre.
The shopping centre is matching Southampton' s expectations as small city but I am not really impressed. Mix of shops and nice fast food restaurant. I had a fish&chips at Harry Ramsden's which was absolutely wonderful, I would say the best fish&chip I've ever had.
The shopping centre is quite popular and busy all the time.
If you are travelling as couple or either as family with kids it is a good place to go and spend a day!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank miss_laura_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westquay also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Westquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing