We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going to have eat my hat now...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I'm going to have eat my hat now...”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Well, well. I was "forced" into staying at this establishment (urgency/position) & wasn't looking forward to it at all. The location was perfect though & everything else about this hotel was too! That price? Easily up to 4 star standard & although I Initially thought the breakfast was expensive, the choice & freshness was of 5 star standard. Summer berries on my muesli has actually changed my dietary habits & I could not recommend this place highly enough. The rooms were clean & warm & the only fault I could find was there was nowhere to put luggage in the open position. Irksome having a case on the floor. No matter, it hit the spot in every other way. I had a bath before retiring & a shower when I awoke which was totally 'not green' & I so do not care. Fabulous. £31 booked on line? Wonderful room, beautiful food. Knowledgeable, friendly staff. Oh! Dear! I'm going to have to eat my hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    655
    148
    42
    39
See reviews for
588
843
83
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good location, clean rooms but terrible food served in restaurant. Had to send two steaks back only to be told not to bother ordering the steak as the cut was bad! Gave the chicken a go but it was preformed processed chicken, not a quality chicken breast. A real shame, if they employed a 'chef' and purchased half decent food the hotel would be an ideal place to stay. Sofa bed was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QualityUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upton
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed overnight to join a cruise ship the following day. Lovely hotel in a good location for the coach station, docks and the Shopping mall. The staff were very helpful and the check in was quick and easy. The hotel and the rooms were spotless, spacious and comfy. The evening meal and breakfast were very good. Have booked again in May 2013 and would certainly recommend this hotel, one of the best I have stayed in Southampton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sinbadmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed for an overnight business trip. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. Bed had a ridge in it from where it was joined from two singles into a double which made sleeping a little disturbed in finding a ridge free position. Dinner was basic okay - I was too tired to go out to look for something else. The cooking was basic and some of the waiting staff a bit gormless. It is opposite the river and the old city wall but really, it felt like a commercial area with little going on though there was a shopping centre nearby. Fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplefleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ware hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked this hotel via there website.The price for what you received was very good.The check in process that the receptionist who is very helpfull assists you with is easy.The rooms were modern and very clean.The restaurant and food very good aswell.The location is right next to all the main shopping malls and only a short walk to the main high road..I couldnt fault this hotel at all.For the price you pay for the meal deal package and what is included in the price is exceptionally good.Foer a short stay its well worth it

Room Tip: Take up the offer of the Meal Deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank displeased064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lots of people love this chain. It is way too basic for the price in my opinion. The bathroom, while clean has the ameneties of a gas station (2 soap dispensers).
Booking from the U.S. I could not use the chain website for a good rate. I had to use a consolidator for more than twice as much as my U.K. resident friend. I mentioned this to the clerk and he said "We know"
Two of the desk clerks I encountered were non helpful to the point one told me; if I wanted information maybe I could look it up at the Apple Store down the street
Two others were friendly and helpful.
The location and breakfast were OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 981VGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Services at Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premeir Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments. We would like the opportunity to investigate this matter further, please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This Premier Inn is so clean it positively sparkles. This new build is situated directly opposite the excellent West Quay shopping centre. The staff are extremely efficient and welcoming. The rooms are large, airy, with very comfortable huge beds, nice settee, tv with freeview, tea/coffee, lovely bedding, excellent en suite with very thick towels. In this case you cannot improve upon perfection. My only problem was that the multi storey car park opposite is not owned by the hotel and for the first night I paid the special rate agrred for Premier Inn customers of £5. However, for the second night I was charged £14. Apparently I had parked in the wrong section of the car park, although it had not been made clear to me which was the correct section. Within 2 hours I received a phone call from Kevin at the Premier Inn to say that the difference of £9 had been refunded to my credit card! Now this really is going the 'extra mile' for guests! Thank you Premier Inn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 24 in Southampton
1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Address: 96 Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing