We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I chose the Premier Inn Southampton West Key because of it's proximity to the Cruise Ship terminal. We had travelled down to Southampton by train from the North East of England. The hotel was situated a short taxi ride from the station. On arrival we were greeted by a very polite member of the hotel staff who took us through the automated check in procedure. We had booked the food package ( a good choice) so he explained the restaurant procedure for our evening meal and buffet breakfast. Food was very good. Restaurant staff were very friendly. We enjoyed a few after dinner drinks at the small bar adjoining the restaurant. Our room was excellent. Very clean and modern.
We didn't have a car so cannot comment on the parking arragements.
Being so close to the cruise ship terminal we could enjoy a very relaxing breakfast. When we came down to leave the hotel a member of the reception staff phoned for a taxi that arrived in minutes. The cruise port was only 5 minutes from the hotel. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because when we booked this particular date we weren't offered multiple rates. We had booked on line a couple of months before the date we required but the date we required was the only day of that week that Premier Inn weren't offering multiple rates. Obvious reason was that they must know that the next day two very large cruise ships are departing and demand for rooms will be high.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jawsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,824 - 1,830 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

My first time at this particular hotel, its the usual Premier Inn spec. The staff we all rather helpful and my stay was a nice one. My only negative comment is that the parking is next door in a multi story car park so that when its raining you get wet walking to the hotel.

There is a drop off point but as I was on my own this didnt help with the bags etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked this hotel very last minute on a Thursday night. When we arrived we were greeted by Aggie the receptionist, she was very helpful and almost insistent on checking all our needs were catered for. Car park was a 5 mins walk away and we were able to drop off our cases at the rear entrance to reception. Our room was on the first floor with a view of the shopping complex, it was a lovely room, the cleanest room I have ever stayed, in, the house keeping staff deserve a pay rise! we found the room to be quiet and comfortable. Bathroom was spotless. TV worked well and the room was very comfortable with a choice of both firm and soft pillows.
We didn't use the restaurant as it closed at 9pm. We did use the bar, the staff were really friendly and happy for us to take our drinks up to our room.
The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the shopping centre, Ikea and High Street, also there was a cinema complex within a 12 min walk too.
Due to the high standards of cleanliness and brilliant staff, we would definitely stay here again! (we stayed the following 2 nights at the Grand Harbour Hotel, which was nowhere near as clean as the Premier Inn)

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Booked this on special offer - £29! Brilliant Location, fantastic for shopping, great restaurants nearby. You can park and unload bags at the back of the hotel for half an hour and then move the car to the multi storey, £5 for 24 hours, but do ask at reception for your ticket to be validated by the hotel, otherwise you will pay full tariff. ( The car park is safe and secure and is locked overnight) Staff very polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I love the beds in this chain of hotels, exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was a bit disorganised, as they decided to change to buffet style from table service when we arrived. However, having a Costa coffee machine was brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a family party of six adults. Rooms are a good size and clean and comfortable. Front of house staff are friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Price was right. Couldn't really fault any aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: 3 rooms booked in our party. 2 twin and a double. All 3 were good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trickyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn Southampton West Quay from Thursday 17th to Saturday 19th January - but wish it had been longer!

It's brilliantly situated for the shopping centre, Guildhall Square, although the Thyme restaurant on-site is incredible - so relaxing...

We are huge fans of the Premier Inn chain and this hotel is one of our favourites - great staff, great breakfast, comfortable room, brilliant restaurant - well done guys, keep up the fantastic work!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaybee661_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was on a special offer, much cheaper than my normal Southampton Premier Inn, but I was initially concerned that there was no parking on site. I need not have worried because although I had to park in the nearby multi-storey car park, it is right behind the hotel, literally 200 metres away. The cost is relatively small and in the current cold weather it provides the advantage of not needing to scrape ice or snow off the car windows in the morning!
My room was quiet and clean (as usual in a Premier Inn) and the self-service breakfast was good. I particularly liked the coffee machine which served high quality coffee in all the usual styles.
The restaurant was a bit charmless, but the food was OK for the price. If you want fast-food dining go to the West Quay shopping centre for pizzas, etc. as you can access it from the car park lifts.
On the whole a good place to stay and I'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,074 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#4 of 25 in Southampton
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 25 in Southampton
1,940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Address: Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: $64 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing