We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel great location friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cowes Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quality hotel great location friendly staff”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The title says it all
Couldn't want for a cleaner friendlier hotel so close to city centre

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    649
    146
    42
    38
See reviews for
581
833
83
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This Premier Inn is relatively new so is a touch more fresh and pleasant than your standard Premier Inn fare, but there were a few niggles.

Firstly the positive - it is conveniently located close to the West Quay shopping centre; the reception staff are very friendly and helpful (though you're encouraged to do a self-check-in, they will assist you with it). Some reviewers have mentioned the noise from the busy road outside the front of the hotel though I have to say that we didn't notice this. And there is free wifi for half an hour if you register, but...

Now the niggles... we registered for the free wifi but couldn't get it to connect properly before the half hour expired. The tv didn't work properly, or worked spasmodically. We understand that the area is going through the digital switchover and this may account for the problem. Parking is £5 which is fair enough, but the arrangements should be explained at the time of booking so that this is clear. We only knew about it from reading previous Tripadvisor reviews. Also, once we'd parked in the multi-story it took us ages to work out the pedestrian route out to the hotel (there were no directions or notices in the lifts, even as to which floor to exit at) and although we did get there in the end I'm sure we didn't get it right as we finished up having to walk along the car exit, which was a bit of a hassle with our bags, etc. Lastly, there was a mix-up over the breakfasts. We had booked one full breakfast online as I didn't want any breakfast myself and the website wouldn't allow me to book a continental breakfast for my husband. When we arrived in the room the information provided showed that continental breakfasts were available so I phoned reception to ask them to downgrade the breakfast from full to continental. It was only when I checked the invoice on my return home that I realised that they'd charged an extra full breakfast before changing both of them to continental. So we'd been charged for two breakfasts when we'd only had one. After two attempts at contacting them (their head office was useless) it was sorted out, but this was rather annoying.

We ate in the on-site restaurant as we had had a long day travelling and didn't fancy going out. As much of the food on people's plates looked very "brown" I decided to have a salad but it was probably a bad choice as it wasn't very good. My husband's gammon and egg was better, but overall it wasn't a great meal.

Oh dear, this all sounds more negative than I'd intended. Yes, there were a few niggles but mostly they were minor in relation to the good standards of the room and friendly helpful staff, so please don't be put off. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bohawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Bed, breakfast & dinner, for 2 = £92, perfect location whilst waiting for a cruise, newly built, lovely staff, nice room we needed no more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My 2 night stay was a very pleasant one, mainly due to the friendliness of the staff. The room was very clean, light and airy and comfortable.
I ate breakfast and dinner and would recommend the food to anyone it was good value for money, a good variety on the menu and promptly served.
Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

Well done Premier Inn for delivering a good value for money service

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayteelancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Unlike other Premier Inns I have stayed in, this one was great. Nice-sized room, really comfy bed, friendly helpful staff. It is located right next door to West Quay shopping centre where you can park for £5 for a day. It's also next to IKEA and the docks. The downside is that it's a little too far to walk to some of the areas of the city centre. We had a restaurant booked in Bedford Place but it was only £5 in a taxi which was very reasonable. The restaurant in the hotel, however, looked good and was quite busy when we left for the evening. All in all a good quaility, reasonably priced hotel. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Typical Premier Inn - no frills, but absolutely no complaints. Spotlessly clean room, comfy beds and flat screen TV's in the room. We had breakfast which was good quality and filling. The location is perfect for exploring Southampton or using as a pre-cruise hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at West Quay on 25/03/2012 and it was an excellent nights stay.
The quality of the rooms was really good and the staff throughout the hotel were both friendly and efficient.
Restaurant was light and airy with a good selection of dishes and I can recommend the meal deal at £22.00 you get a three course evening meal plus a drink from the bar then a full english breakfast next morning, great value and well presented.
As a coeliac there was not a great choice of gluten free food on the menu the the restaurant staff pulled out all the stops to prepare me a three course alternative.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 5 and you could hear a pin drop, security is good as you even have to swipe your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilbotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Address: 96 Harbour Parade | West Quay, Southampton SO15 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#2 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton West Quay Premier Inn is ideally located near the Southampton Cruise and ferry Terminals, only a short walk away. Southampton's West Quay Shopping centre is directly across the road.The Southampton train station and national express coach station is less then half a mile away and by road there is easy access to the M27 and M3 giving an easy commute to Paultons Park and Pepper Pig World.Our Southampton West Quay Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing