We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last a no fuss experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Funnel Ferries

Red Funnel Ferries
Ranked #3 of 127 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a mini cruise across the Solent with or without your car on Red Funnel vehicle ferry to the port of East Cowes or take the Red Jet catamaran at 37 knots to (west)Cowes - a wonderful Victorian port and the global home of yachting and yacht racing. Both destinations are ideal for a day trip or a short break, and Red Funnel can also book all your accommodation and attraction choices - see our website for more info.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“At last a no fuss experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled to the IOW by Red Funnel, pre-booked car and two passengers for priority loading excellent first on first off, well worth the extra.
Our fault, we had to bring forward our departure from the IOW by a few days. Rang Red Funnel on Sunday afternoon actually spoke to a live body!, booking changed, no fuss and priority transfer, when we arrived at the Port we got on an even earlier ferry again no fuss
Great to travel with the professionals who look after customers and are not jobs worth!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnluketilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    348
    92
    41
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
242 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Better than expected, recommended, slight reservations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a user over many decades of the two other Isle of Wight vehicle ferries, I became a recent first time user of the longer Red Funnel Southampton-East Cowes crossing service.

From the managing boarding, through the hot food catering service to leaving the ships, I was pleasantly surprised at the good service, particularly in the self-service restaurant. The longish crossing (55 mins) equates to a Dover-Calais crossing so it is worth investing in better catering. The ships have a one or two bars (both closed on our November Sunday evening return trip), a coffee counter (like an AMT or Costa) and a smallish self-service hot/cold food section. Staff were particularly helpful there. I thought the breakfast items were a whole lot more attractive than the limited evening meal choices. Why not just offer All Day Breakfasts? On our return trip, the hot/cold food operation shut down as soon as the short queue had cleared, no going back for seconds. The fact that it was the last trip of the day for that crew was made into a feature of the otherwise fairly pleasant public address announcement but as a fare-paying customer I could not care less.

The public spaces were clean as were the toilets.

The two terminals are relatively small but are very visibly kept clean and tidy and well-stocked with information.

Only big reservation is that in summer, everything would be that much more crowded, so does the service scale-up to match?
Smaller reservations, for a dedicated coffee shop counter, the Mocha coffee and hot chocolate were not remotely up to AMT or Costa standards!
I paid extra for the priority boarding and 20% off food purchases - but did not think it was worth it. You all get on the ferry sooner or later (if booked!) and the food was at sub-motorway services prices anyway.
I shall use Red Funnel again though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant Entertainment to keep the kids occupied!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

What an amazing surprise to find the half term entertainment on the ferry! Totally unexpected bonus that cheered up two rather tearful people who hadn't wanted their holiday to end. They want to know if Huxley the Magic Man will be doing shows when we come back again next Easter please!
Smooth crossing, easy loading too - looks like you have got the spacing right now between cars on deck, so it's possible to get in and out without any limbo dancing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IInnkeeperess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went on a sun holiday to i.o.w took the car and every thing was straight forward no messing around we didn't have any food or drink on board so cant really comment but it was a very pleasant crossing .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rox908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“All round very pleasant trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The car ferry arrived on time both ways, had a good selection of food and enough seating. It was rather chilly (end of Oct) so take a coat or blanket.

Staff seemed organised. You have to be patient in general when travelling.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank UserLJ2AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Funnel Ferries also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Funnel Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing