We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret gem”
Review of Solent Sky Museum

Solent Sky Museum
Ranked #1 of 130 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Solent Sky Museum showcases the history of aviation in Southampton - Spitfire City - and the surrounding Solent area.Geographically this was the most important area in the country, perhaps the world, for aircraft experimental and development work between 1908 and the late 1960s. 26 aircraft companies set up shop in the area, and many of the world’s greatest aircraft, including the legendary Spitfire, first took to the air in the skies over Southampton.We have 18 complete airframes, including a Supermarine Spitfire and Supermarine S6a (N248), and also 4 cockpit sections. We also have a comprehensive collection of aero-engines.Our mighty Sandringham Flying Boat was originally built as a Short Sunderland in 1943, and converted to a passenger aircraft after the war. Visitors are welcome to board the aircraft to sample the luxury of air travel in the romantic era of the great flying boats, and guided tours of the flight deck are also available.Kids (and big kids) can also imagine what it would be like to fly a jet fighter while sat in the cockpits of our Supermarine Swift and Harrier Jump Jet. Our new Schneider Trophy Exhibition is now open, with its record-breaking centrepiece the S6a. Video stock footage of these legendary races and artefacts from the time illustrate the drama and romance of the fastest race in history.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

wow I did'nt even know it there a great place to go for an afternoon really enjoyed it. I will fervently be going back

Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Solent Sky Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Pleased you enjoyed your visit; look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"flying boat"
in 118 reviews
"aviation history"
in 35 reviews
"flight deck"
in 25 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 16 reviews
"roe"
in 7 reviews
"aircraft including"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 36 reviews
"volunteer staff"
in 8 reviews
"small building"
in 9 reviews
"on street parking"
in 7 reviews
"great collection"
in 7 reviews
"on display"
in 20 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 6 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 11 reviews
"southampton area"
in 9 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 14 reviews
"interesting place"
in 6 reviews
Filter

535 - 539 of 608 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We come over from London to see this museum and its absolute great.
Nice collection of planes, friendly staff which explain you everything about the collection. You even can sit in 3 cockpits.
Great Day out. Thanks a lot

Thank derkochprofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Solent Sky Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Very pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Fantastic collection of aircraft and really friendly staff with lots of knowledge
Although a small museum we spent 2 hours there
There are 3 cockpits in which u can sit in and have an insight into pilot life
Overall very good and a small shop with some lively cards toys books and wonderful pictures at great prices

1  Thank PilotAtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Solent Sky Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are proud of our Volunteer Staff who are only too pleased to help our visitors. We try and make each visit a hands on experience. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Although a little 'out of the way' this museum near Ocean Village is well worth a visit for aviation enthuiasts. The mostly volunteer staff are friendly and helpful.

Thank Labaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Solent Sky Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

We think our volunteers are special. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have lived down in Southampton for 10 years and have driven past the museum lots of times without realising it was there.
I could spend hours walking around there and will definately be going back :-)

Thank Bobster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Solent Sky Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for visiting us. We are a little of the main route, but pleased you found it worth the journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solent Sky Museum also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Solent Sky Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing