We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Highfield House Hotel for the first time in this month and was very pleased with this B&B hotel. The price was fair and the staff very friendly, The location is ideal for the airport, shopping in Southampton and access to the motorway. The self service breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The Hotel is with walking distance of several restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
There are newer reviews for Highfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 550 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

We regularly stay one night in Southampton delivering/collecting a student son. A couple of weeks ago used the Highfield for the first time and overall it is very good value considering the cooked breakfast and cleanliness. Room was on the small side with access to the tiny en-suite up a short flight of stairs !? Rather noisy above the lounge, and with the window open on account of the room being very warm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBoy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here prior to a flight to Alderney and were pleased with everything about this hotel. Room was small but no problem for a one night stay. We ate at the Ceno bar which is attached to the hotel which has a lovely decking area at the front and the steak sandwich was the best I've ever had. They even cut it half and put in on 2 plates with some salad each as we were sharing it. Staff very welcoming and very good atmosphere. The breakfast at the hotel was buffet style with plenty of variety including fresh fruit and cereal with all the usual cooked breakfast choices. Staff at the hotel were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was a one night stay to allow us to collect our son from the University. The hotel is clean and tidy and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the decor looks a little tired but I think that that is down to the style of furniture and it's upholstery. We were on the third floor and even though our phones etc showed they were picking up a wifi signal it was not strong enough to use for anything. It was ok in the dining room though. Breakfast was satisfactory with reasonable choice for both a continental and a full English.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MFillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I booked this hotel as I was on business in the area. The room was compact and just what I needed. The bathroom was slightly unclean.

Other than that the cleaning the breakfast was great and the staff were attentive. Not far from the train station is a bonus too.

Great for a one night stay when in need.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Room was clean and ok but walls are paper thin and you can hear everything that's happening in the next room. Breakfast is good. DO NOT EXPECT TO BE ABLE TO USE THE INTERNET although it's included in the price! One person of the staff lied to me saying the Internet was down because clients kept download stuff the hotel's wifi but i found out it was A LIE! The Internet had been down for 3 weeks and NOTHING had be done about it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyteezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute and got the last room for a single person. The staff were helpful and very pleasant. The room was excellent value for money with a double bed with one set of pillows plus all the facilities mentioned in previous reviews. I understand from locals that the hotel has been refurbished and renamed (coming back to it's original name). Some of the aspects of the decor just needed that little bit more attention to detail - ie loose tiles behind the door in the bathroom not visible until you shut the door!! Water pressure seemed to be a problem - not sure if this was because I was on the top floor/end of the corridor. There was an electric shower which was absolutely fine but having a bath was a challenge on arrival. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit salad, cereals, ham etc as well as full english breakfast options.I used the Ceno restaurant next door for my evening meal. If staying again I would ask to be on the side away from the road (even numbered rooms I believe) but more importantly the decking area for the restaurant/bar. This would be a precautionary measure as I assume the front rooms might be noisy as the summer nights warm up and people sit outdoors drinking.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on the side away from the road - see review
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilmslow-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Southampton
370 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 25 in Southampton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $103 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing