We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The rooms were spacious and clean with all necessary appointments. Located one block back from the High Street with restaurants, shops and supermarkets minutes away. Breakfast is served each morning buffet style. Free car parking is available along with free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kplceurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 561 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

First impressions were good in the reception and public areas. The bedroom looked good on entering.
The TV was fixed to the wall in a very precarious position, just the right height to catch your head when passing. Turned on the TV - no picture with 'No signal' message on screen. On closer inspection turns out the coax plug was in bits on top of the Ironing station. Went to have a shower, switched on the air extractor, It seems the bearing were going as it was very noisy and not doing what it was suppose to do. Went to sit down at the desk, chair was found to be wobbly and dangerous as it seems the whole chair was loose on it's joints and wound probably collapse sometime soon. Went to use the loo, found that the flush was not 100% effective, noticed bubbles coming up - my guess is there is probably a small blockage down there.
Went to sit on the bed and one of the Castor's broke off.
It had been a hot day and therefore I opened all the windows, however this was not very effective as there was no airflow. Later on that evening, having the windows opened obviously lets the noise from the outside in, therefore not only getting noise from Highfield Lane but also from Ceno's restaurant which was directly below the bedroom.The pros for this hotel was the staff were friendly and helpful. They tried to fix TV but this ended in failure as the picture was pixalating (Square Blocks of picture dropping), however the chair was changed for a more stable one - progress at last.
The Breakfast was of good choice and standard in good surroundings.

I thought that Housekeeper's employed in hotels were suppose to inspect rooms for these sort of problems before guests occupy the rooms, so that guests avoid these problems, but at the Highfield this does not seem to apply.
At least the ceiling stayed up.

The Highfield really needs to get it's act together as far as the bedrooms are concerned and try harder go give comfort and value for money for it's clientele and should also consider air conditioning.

Room Tip: If you are coming to stay I would suggest bringing your toolkit with you as you might need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Taking a business trip to Southampton we booked into the Highfield House taken from the internet. We were greeted by a young lady who was charming and had a big smile. Making us feel welcome as soon as we walked in. (It made a change from the usual hotel chain that staff seem to be there for no other reason but to check you in.) The welcome was personal and warming. The room was what we expected, probably larger than normal for the price we paid and was clean and fresh. During the evening we left the hotel and we were spoken to with a smile and asked if we needed any assistance in locating any place. The following morning we went down for breakfast around 8:30am. I am not a fan of buffet breakfast but this one was the hottest buffet breakfast I have ever had and it wasn't dried up everything was fresh (well as fresh as it can be on a buffet) I will most certainly use the hotel again it also had adequate parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for one night and would most certainly recommend this hotel, It had a welcoming reception area, the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was excellent! If we were ever in the area again we would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

As in my title, u pay for what u get! We had a room on the front and got all the traffic noise, and from the bar below where everyone was sitting outside drinking! The floors and ceilings are so old that we heard people walking about and the floors creaking above us until they finally decided to settle! Everyrthing else was fine and the reception staff were very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suejenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed one night prior to joining cruise. Able to leave car there for the 12 nights for small additional cost then only short taxi drive to docks. Room clean and comfy, staff friendly and breakfast excellent. Would definately recommend hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickytrainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked this hotel thought booking.com originale for the price..bonus that the price we paid include our full breakfast.The location was less than 10mins from the Ferry we Were Catching. Fantastic service from friendly staff, brilliant fresh breakfast.
Hotel could do with a small amount of cosmetic upgrade, carpets Where faded and ties in need of growling....However this did not cause any fault for service or quality

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetopcat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#4 of 25 in Southampton
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#6 of 25 in Southampton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $61 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing