We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highfield House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Mottram in Longdendale, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Taking a business trip to Southampton we booked into the Highfield House taken from the internet. We were greeted by a young lady who was charming and had a big smile. Making us feel welcome as soon as we walked in. (It made a change from the usual hotel chain that staff seem to be there for no other reason but to check you in.) The welcome was personal and warming. The room was what we expected, probably larger than normal for the price we paid and was clean and fresh. During the evening we left the hotel and we were spoken to with a smile and asked if we needed any assistance in locating any place. The following morning we went down for breakfast around 8:30am. I am not a fan of buffet breakfast but this one was the hottest buffet breakfast I have ever had and it wasn't dried up everything was fresh (well as fresh as it can be on a buffet) I will most certainly use the hotel again it also had adequate parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    228
    127
    31
    15
See reviews for
87
208
29
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for one night and would most certainly recommend this hotel, It had a welcoming reception area, the room was very clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was excellent! If we were ever in the area again we would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

As in my title, u pay for what u get! We had a room on the front and got all the traffic noise, and from the bar below where everyone was sitting outside drinking! The floors and ceilings are so old that we heard people walking about and the floors creaking above us until they finally decided to settle! Everyrthing else was fine and the reception staff were very friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suejenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed one night prior to joining cruise. Able to leave car there for the 12 nights for small additional cost then only short taxi drive to docks. Room clean and comfy, staff friendly and breakfast excellent. Would definately recommend hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickytrainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked this hotel thought booking.com originale for the price..bonus that the price we paid include our full breakfast.The location was less than 10mins from the Ferry we Were Catching. Fantastic service from friendly staff, brilliant fresh breakfast.
Hotel could do with a small amount of cosmetic upgrade, carpets Where faded and ties in need of growling....However this did not cause any fault for service or quality

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetopcat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintwistle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good car parking plenty of room, excellent attention at the Reception with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms small, neat and clean and acceptable for one or two nights. Excellent free Wifi. Breakfast very good but no evening meal on site but next door is the "Ceno" Restaurant.

A very good place to lay your head

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefJDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having spent the weekend at Pembrey, we travelled here getting in quite late to be met by very cheerful and helpful staff who were ready for us, making the booking in very quick and simple. The room was clean and larger than expected and led to a very comfortable stay leaving us refreshed for catching the ferry to Cowes the next morning. Definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyCox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.8 mi away
Elizabeth House Hotel
Elizabeth House Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southampton
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,773 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House Hotel

Property: Highfield House Hotel
Address: 119 Highfield Lane | Portswood, Southampton SO17 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Highfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing